Summertime fun with PIXAKI pixelart

Farmhouse in Holland by bARTwerk - Made with Pixaki - 480 x 270px canvas, custom 32 color palette

To be honest, I've never had very much interest in creating pixel art before. Until the summer of 2021 when I discovered the beautiful work of AngrySnail aka Nikita Solo (links to his work below).

The header image of this blog post is the latest pixel artwork I created. It depicts a farmhouse in a village called Wamel, Holland, just behind the dike of the river Waal (Rhine), where I spent my summer vacation.

It took an incredible amount of time and patience to make it in all the details. But I have to say, it was quite an addictive process and a lot of fun!

But that's not how it started; read on for my whole pixel adventure...

Animation

One of the cool things you can do is to create animated pixel art, usually GIF's! This one I created from a vintage 7-UP advertising poster from the 1970s. It only has four frames and a small canvas, and I think it's already mind-blowing!

Re-interpretation of a vintage 7-UP advertisement from the 1970s. 114  x 150px, 4 frames, 8fps, 14 color custom palette

Getting serious

After the 7-UP animation, I thought it was time to get a little more serious. So I chose a theme, which I already knew very well and used many times before. It's a French Farmhouse "Le Phaux", which is very dear to me. I decided to create with a 192 x 256px canvas and a custom 32 color palette. It was already considerably more work than the 7-UP animation (114 x 150px), due to its size and level of detail.

"Le Phaux" - a typical French Farmhouse - 192 x 256px canvas and a custom 32 color palette

Minimal Pixel Art

I then decided to take an alternative approach: minimalism - fewer and still fewer pixels.

As it seems to me, minimal pixel art is a different segment. It focuses on creating art by using as few pixels as possible. Create a recognizable and perhaps even stronger image with as little detail as possible. And maybe even using a very limited color palette as well...

Made in Holland: Delft Blue tiles - minimal pixel art with a dutch twist

To experiment I started a series of very small pixel drawings inspired by Delft Blue tiles and authentic Dutch motifs. It was kinda hard to quit creating when I got started, so it has resulted in a full series "Made in Holland":

  1. Frisian cattle - Fries Hollandse cow
  2. Kissing couple - farmer and peasant girl
  3. Historic "hollow post" windmill - Wipmolen
  4. Tulip (from the "Keukenhof")
  5. Holland Canal House
  6. Miffy or "Nijntje" as we originally call her in Holland
  7. Wooden clog
  8. Alkmaar Cheese carriers
  9. Skunk weed or "Nederwiet"
  10. Piet Mondriaan's "Broadway Boogie Woogie"
  11. Johannes Vermeer's "Girl with a Pearl Earring"

It's quite amazing how much you can express in a creation of only 32 x 32 pixels, and using only a very limited number of shades of blue!

Cryptopunks

Another fun experiment was making portraits in the style of the well-known Cryptopunks by Larvalabs. Only 32 x 32 pixels to capture someone's personality... I have to say, that's a challenge, but a lot of fun to do once you get the hang of it.

Portrait of Dusty Hill (RIP) of ZZ-top in Cryptopunks style - 32 x 32px

Selfportrait in Cryptopunks style - 32 x 32px

Portrait in Cryptopunks style - 32 x 32px

Commodore-64

This work reminded me so much of designing 16-colors “sprites" on a Commodor-64 in the mid 80’s…

Commodore-64.gif

Pixaki

That's all for now folks. I hope I inspired you too! I will certainly be working with pixels more often, simply because it is a lot of fun to do. But also because you can make work with it, which has its own character and for which there is also a large group of enthusiasts. I'll mint some of them as NFT and see how it goes flying...

All these works were created with Pixaki app, links below! 60x60bb.jpg

I found Pixaki.app through following Nikita Solo aka @Angrysnail (Insta), who really inspired me with his wonderful pixel art. There's a free version of Pixaki if you want to try before you before you buy. I eventually bought the PRO-version, and I must say it was worth the inventment.

Links:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency