A Lidl Beer Goes A Long Way 🍻🍺🍻🍺🍻🍺🍻🍺

Out of all the supermarkets Lidl has been, by far, the most disappointing when it comes to beer. Cheap Pilsners and lagers that have less character and appeal than a politician standing for re-election. I’d walk down the beer isle and not even give a courtesy-glance to what was there. I mean, what’s the point? Same old, same old, right? Well, maybe not, as it looks like Lidl have bagged themselves a deal with a Scottish brewery in Dundee, named “71” and from the taste of this beer I do hope it’s a long-standing deal!

415183C4-2889-4A98-8245-224CAC123987.jpeg

pic source

Being the curious type, I had a little search for 71 brewery and found out they have a cheeky little beer garden at their tap and bottle room. Might be worth a visit one day…

7B76B65F-DDBA-4692-B1B9-1D6F5D044E42.jpeg

pic source

71 brewery website

For now my underpriced little gem will have to be sourced from my local Lidl and while I’m super-happy with 71’s “Luminous Nights” KVEIK DIPA, I really hope they supply Lidl with more and more produce from their brewery because this one is an absolute banger!

CF7DA201-D317-4A25-830E-A686C365B3AA.jpeg

7.4% and with a price tag of just £2.19 I purchased my first can with a healthy dose of suspicion. “No way this can be a real craft ale at that price. £2.19 for a 7.4% DIPA? This has to be some kind of scam” Well, bless my bonnie haggis. This is the best thing to come out of Scotland since Sean Connery!

Luminous Nights is absolute magic. A wonderful DIPA that ticks all the right boxes. Hazy? Yes. Juicy? Double yes. Smooth and moreish?? Does the Lock Ness monster pee in the deep end??? Of course, yes!!

I don’t know how Lidl have managed to keep the price of this beer so low but I am certainly not complaining. I’m buying these beers like an alcoholic who’s just found out the NHS are doing a 2-4-1 on liver transplants. Honestly, my fridge is becoming an embarrassing sight. But do I care? Ach! No, ya wee jesse! Like a true Scotsman I like bargain and while Lidl keep stocking their shelves, I’ll keep on emptying them! My only problem now, is there aren’t enough #beersaturdays in the week! “Beertuesday”? Hmmm 🤔 sounds good when you say it in a Scottish accent!

That’ll do for me, ya wee liver-bashing beer goats! See you again soon!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency