Introduction: Carrie Ann Baade

Hello Hive!
I am new to PeakD. So thank you for your patience while I figure this out this new platform.
1506019_10151894191032291_1372518033_n.jpg
This is me with one of my favorite artist's, Jessica Joslin, sculpture from my collection.

Back 2021 postcard.jpg
Caritas, oil on panel, 40 x 30 images. This will be on exhibit at ArtFields in South Carolina at the end of the month and through April.
https://www.artfieldssc.org/

My work consists of creating and exhibiting labor-intensive oil paintings that can be considered contemporary surrealism or imaginary realism. I typically depict the world realistically and then subvert and distort it in order to construct a strong sense of narrative and meaning. Each composition becomes a dense meta-narrative, informed by religious, mythological, and cultural iconography. The subjects of my work include gods, rulers, and demons as metaphors for the diverse archetypes of the human condition. This content evolves toward parable-like narratives, not unlike the ones in pre-modern paintings that told biblical and mythical stories through visual language.

My paintings are

exhibited in museums and galleries nationally and internationally, including: the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, Mesa Contemporary Museum of Art, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Jacksonville, the Delaware Contemporary, Billy Shire Fine Arts and La Luz de Jesus in Los Angeles, the Harwood Museum in Taos, the Instituto de America de Santa Fe in Granada, Spain; and the Ningbo Art Museum in China. Raised on the front range in Colorado, I live and works in Northern Florida, where I am a Professor of Painting and Drawing at Florida State University.

The new work can be seen here www.carrieannbaade.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency