"Good God, Why Me?" - A Sonnet by Duncan Cary Palmer

"Reflect upon your present blessings of which every man has many - not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some."
- Charles Dickens -

Good day! Do you like sonnets?

I've written my second sonnet, once again Original to Steemit, in response to @hopehuggs poetry contest:

"Runaway Rhymes #7 Poetry Contest"

At that link (CLICK above), you can read the rules of the contest in case you might like to enter also.

And, should you care to read my first sonnet, you may do so here:

"Old Hands" - A Sonnet by Duncan Cary Palmer


LovedBy.jpg

Loved by the Creator (source—originally via https://unsplash.com)


Good God, Why Me?
by Duncan Cary Palmer

You could have chosen someone far more fit
To champion your honor in debate.
A brilliant scholar, schooled in word and wit,
Whose logic captive minds might liberate.

Perhaps you should have picked an artisan,
Aesthetic sensibilities replete.
His stunning output minds and hearts would win,
His artifacts, a testimony sweet.

Good God, Why me? Why choose this reprobate?
Why bother with a man so deeply flawed?
I feel so weak, so unable of late
My fellow man to turn toward thoughts of God.

But, as you've chosen me, I'll sing your praise
Throughout the universe for endless days.


*FIN*


~More Sonnets       More Poetry~


NOTE: Throughout my posts, you may notice hyperlinks like this one that lead to supplemental material. Most images are also hyperlinked. While not essential to the enjoyment of my writing, you may find the linked background information enlightening (or at least mildly interesting).
ALL IMAGES are either my own, derived from open source material, or used with permission.


For much more of @creatr, click on the library image below:
CircleLib.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency