"Five Hundred Saw Him" - A Haiku

"Then he appeared to more than five hundred brothers at one time, most of whom are still alive, though some have fallen asleep." - 1 Corinthians 15:6

Thoughts of the resurrection still grip me, a week later.

That Jesus rose from the dead in a physical body is one of the best attested facts of ancient (~2000 years past) history. His resurrection was witnessed by his closest friends and followers, but additionally by more than 500 others at the time.

They saw him, ate with him, touched him, and spoke with him. None had any doubt that it was Jesus. None doubted that he had died. None could deny that he was indeed alive again. This is earth-shaking information for anyone who may care about matters of life and death.

Jesus' followers spent the rest of their lives going world-wide with this news, despite incredible persecution, and ultimately martyrdom. Think about that.

I've written another haiku on the subject of Jesus' return to life from death.

But first, let me share Jesus' promise with you as well, so that you might have an opportunity to believe:

"Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out. For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day. For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”" - John 6:35-40, emphasis added

My personal hope for my future, as well as the future of my friends and loved ones, is this: Jesus rose from the dead, and he has promised to raise me also from the dead on the last day. He has promised to raise all who will believe on him.

Five Hundred Saw Him

Five Hundred Saw Him
Photo courtesy of Ezra Jeffrey and http://unsplash.com



"Five Hundred Saw Him"



Forty days he stayed,
After rising from the dead.
Five hundred saw him.





Jesus is alive. Believe it.


FIN


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency