Trying Again

IMG_20210116_132653.jpg

Wow I can't believe it's been 1 4 days since I last posted on Hive. Actually it makes sense. I haven't been really busy. I actually have a lot of free time. Some of this free time goes towards plant stuff. Like yesterday I made some fertilizer and supplied it to all my plants indoors (it's winter here). All plants except the one pictured. It is barely a seedling and I don't want to damage it, even though my fertilizer is all natural. Can you guess what plant it is?
If you think it just looks like grass, then you're actually right. It is trigo or wheat. The particular seed became very precious to me since I had only brought over 2 with me from Mexico.

received_638071083591296.jpeg

This was my seed haul. I couldn't bring that many of each seed since it's technically unlawful but trust me; none of these has the potential to become an invasive species nor do they carry any pests that themselves might become invasive. So that's why I could only bring 2 (and besides that's all I had left from the bunch that I found).
The first seed I planted never sprouted. I knew it shouldn't be taking this long so I removed the container's glass dome and dug around with a tiny pick. I found the seed, along with a few springtails though they aren't the culprit this time. (Springtails appear to not like grains but they will happily munch on your beans and peas [use coffee grounds for that]). The seed coat was intact, indicating nothing tried to eat it. But the seed itself was reduced to mush. The soil must have been too moist. When I planted the second one, I didn't fill the hole in with dirt again. I just pushed the seed right up against the side of the small hole. I put the dome back and it sprouted a few days later!

1610826819592126547740.jpg

Since my Avena sativa (oat), also in the grass family, just keeps more seeds maybe if I plant wheat in a similar container it will also give me an endless supply of grain!
Where else am I gonna get raw, all natural, unprocessed wheat? The question remains, what can I do with it once I have a lot? I'll cross that bridge when I get there. I already have a plan for what to do with my oats. Once I have a sustainable amount I will use a bunch to grow so that my cats can munch on it. I will have to be creative in making the container unable to tip over while also having a layer of protection to prevent the kitties from grazing all the way down to the bottom like sheep.
That's really all I have to say for now. I'm excited for what this little plant might give me. I will provide updates on its growth.
Until then.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency