Normal service may be resuming

Good evening fellow Hive folk.

I've just looked back and it has been nearly 5 months since my last post about making granola. It has passed in a flash but feels like a lifetime away at the same time.

So, why the break? Well I think it's fair to say I've been going through somewhat of a reset. I thought I'd coped with the past 17 months well but it turned it out I hadn't and was in desparate need of some time out. A brief recap being I lost my job a few weeks before COVID and the big lockdown here in the UK. I managed to get some temp work in September but then got a 'proper' job in January of this year. I'm pleased to say I bloody love it! However, I've seen a third of my salary evaporate over the past few years, the same is to be said for any savings we had in the last year. Over this same period a family member got diagnosed with a cancer that can hopefully be lived with, another had a stroke. I had to go spend some time focusing on other things.

All in all though it has been a good(ish) experience. I've enjoyed spending much more time with my kids and family as a whole, as and when restrictions have allowed. I've started working on looking after myself a little better and working on future plans. I've started indoor cycling again, meditating and have been making the most of morning walks on the beach. In typical Stav style, here are some B&W photos I took last week.

IMG_3539.jpg

IMG_3541.jpg

IMG_3545.jpg

IMG_3547.jpg

The time out has also been good for starting to declutter and sort physical stuff out as well as mental. The annual garage clearance has taken place, this led to me managing to get my stationary bike out of one of the bedrooms meaning I can cycle without the noise upsetting the family. The gardens are also looking tidy(ish). I've had a push on creating more space for grass and increasing the amount of wild flowers for wildlife. I've not managed to get as much in as I would have liked as I left it all a bit late. Should be in a good place for the insects next year though.

So, what has been my biggest lesson? I've learned the power and importance of sleep. I've been living of four to six hours a night for years and have slowly been edging towards eight. The kids are on their holidays now so I don't have to get up so early which will hopefully help my goals.

I guess that's about it for now. I doubt I'll be a daily poster for a while as I continie to get my house in order but feel like a baby step has been made.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency