Beauty Shoot Preview

BCF4529B-8034-426A-B802-2324469B86E5.jpeg

It’s been a while hasn’t it but I finally took some self portraits. I decided I wanted to do a beauty shoot, something with sleek hair and use gels because I don’t think I have ever used them before. I remembered Lindsay Adler having a lot of tutorials about using gels so I did a bit of a browse and found this lighting guide. I obviously don’t have the exact same stuff as her but the idea was the same.

It was a rough go at first and a really difficult shoot to do, especially since it’s all self portraits. I tried different colour gels, played with the lighting and tried to pull my look together. I nearly gave up because everything was boring useless shit at the beginning and no joke, I ended up with 200 photos with missed focus like the one above, and then deleted another 200 where I had a stupid pose or what ever.

I shot with the Nikkor 70-200mm lens zoomed in at 200mm, with a pretty tight crop. I had my camera tethered to a laptop so I could see everything immediately. For beauty shots every detail matters and I had to try and smooth my hair how I wanted it to look and then try not to move until I got the shot. I was also sporting a super thick gloss on my lips so I had to be careful not to mess it.

Here is how my shoot started, 200+ pics of trial and error, and then at the end of this post is the first shot that made it to the editing table. It was a long way to get there but god damn am I glad I did it and I’m so excited for the results.

09A7F731-4D8A-48F5-A1D7-B2765066424B.png

You can see that when you are super precise during all the prep and shoot, there isn’t anything drastic to be done on Photoshop. I do want to do a super clean plastic doll vibe though so I’m gonna edit accordingly. Maybe. We’ll see tomorrow.

FA52FE16-4FB1-47F5-B299-852C05911812.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency