Cairns of remembrance

Cairn

Dictionary
/kern/
noun
1.a mound of rough stones built as a memorial or landmark, typically on a hilltop or skyline.

Wikipedia
A cairn is a human-made pile (or stack) of stones. The word cairn comes from the Scottish Gaelic: càrn

I love this definition since the first cairn that we made was for my dad and he is half Scottish!

Most of the cairns I had seen were small ones that people used on hiking trails. It was a great experience to make ones as memorials.

Dad

October 7, 2016
After my dad's funeral we climbed Hog's Back, his favorite mountain, and erected this cairn for him at the top.


The group that climbed the mountain.


Looking down at the valley.


The building crew

Mom

Feb, 1, 2019
After my mom's funeral we climbed Hog's Back and erected this cairn for her at the top next to my dad's cairn.


The group that climbed the mountain.


It is a steep hike up.


The Building crew


Love you mom and dad and so glad that we took this time to be together and hike dad's mountain and work hard and build you these beautiful cairns of remembrance.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency