Spell of Light - Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

2018_12_20_brazil_bolivia_canon_847_lr_2.jpg
Here is a Tube Light Painting flashback to the most exciting new years celebration with the thoughtfulrider a few years ago at Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia.
What an unforgettable memory.

Looking through the archives I found a few shareable images not yet published. What you see are 3 attempts with the same concept. The model expels a beam of light. So I would start with the Light Tube near her hands and walk out of the frame waving the tube.

2018_12_20_brazil_bolivia_canon_848_lr_2.jpg

As you can see the sun is still going down and there is still a lot of light. In these moments you need a strong flashlight to make a difference here. Or you just wait. We wanted to get as many shots as possible. Well, the sunset anyhow right so just keep shooting.

As long as it is bright you do have the second problem and that's movement. The model has it super hard to stand still for more than a second or so.

All of these shots have an exposure time of only 5 seconds. That's not much in my world but when you move you move and it will be visible. Like I wrote in one of my earlier posts I love these little imperfections and I truly think they make it more hones real and relatable. It's not a Photoshop trick. The shadows are actually me walking. You see there are my black rubber boots leaving a shadow because I did not move fast enough.

2018_12_20_brazil_bolivia_canon_850_lr.jpg
It was so quiet and peaceful out in the flats. Lightning storms around us on the far horizon. Yes, that night was super special. Driving home with these kinds of shots on the SD card is considered the icing on the cake.

I wish I had more time out there. But every night ends at some time when the sun rises ;-)

Ok, 3 more shots, please ;-)

Quick adjustments and then a few more Light Paintings before we go.

2018_12_20_brazil_bolivia_canon_319_lr_2.jpg

After a long night, it starts to brighten on the horizon and the flashlight is not used so let us go back to the hotel ;-)

2018_12_20_brazil_bolivia_canon_446_lr_2.jpg

The images are all taken with a Light Painting Tube. Here is a quick wrap of what to look for when pursuing this technique.

I hope it was also inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.


Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

Since I am one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Thank you so much!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency