Licorice Pizza

LICORICE-PIZZA-FRONTAL.png


A few days ago I went to the cinema and I could see Licorice Pizza. Several people asked me why I went to see Licorice Pizza (when the real question is why not go see it), and to that question I always answered the same: since I love movies, when I know that a director I like is going to release a movie in theaters, I mostly try to see it in theaters. "What happiness gives the cinema, when seen in theaters" I read, and that phrase stayed in my head for a long time.

Although I am going to talk a lot about Licorice Pizza, I made that little introduction because I feel like I need to say that in theaters I have seen at least one movie by Tarantino, Sam Mendes, Denis Villanueve, Steven Spielberg and now, Paul Thomas Anderson. It seems silly, but it's a passion for me, and therefore, it feels like an achievement that I like to share.

Hace unos días fui al cine y pude ver Licorice Pizza. Varias personas me preguntaron porque fui a ver Licorice Pizza (cuando la verdadera pregunta es porque no ir a verla), y a esa pregunta siempre respondía lo mismo: como me encanta el cine, cuando sé que un director que me gusta va a estrenar una película en cines, trato en su mayoría de verla en cine. “Qué felicidad da el cine, cuando se ve en cines” leí, y esa frase me quedó en la cabeza por un buen rato.

Aunque voy a hablar mucho de Licorice pizza, hice esa pequeña introducción porque siento que necesito decir que en cines he visto a al menos una película de Tarantino, Sam Mendes, Denis Villanueve, Steven Spielberg y ahora, Paul Thomas Anderson. Parece algo tonto, pero es una pasión para mí, y por lo mismo, se siente como un logro que me gusta compartir.


Now, going back to Licorice Pizza and how interesting it is to see a movie in theaters, it's even more interesting when you feel that the director (who is also the writer of the movie in this case) falls in love with his characters and the story he creates. I think, although I don't know exactly, that Paul Thomas Anderson made the story thinking of an important period of his adolescence and that is why, like Tarantino in OUATIH, the production of the city feels so well cared for. Everything feels beautiful and well done, but at the same time like a memory or a dream, leaving behind the boring and the unnecessary.

Ahora, volviendo a Licorice Pizza y lo interesante que ver una película en cines, es más interesante aun cuando sientes que el director (que en este caso también es escritor de la película) se enamora de sus personajes y de la historia que crea. Pienso, aunque no lo sé exactamente, que Paul Thomas Anderson hizo la historia pensando en una época importante de su adolescencia y por eso, como Tarantino en OUATIH, la producción de la ciudad se siente tan cuidada. Todo se siente hermoso y bien hecho, pero a su vez como un recuerdo o un sueño, que deja atrás lo aburrido y lo innecesario.

licorice-pizza-trailer.jpeg


Licorice Pizza takes us by the hand of Gary and Alanna, a couple who despite their age difference (Gary at 15 and Alanna at 25) spend most of the summer of 1973 together. With this starting point, I return to the fact that it feels like a dream, where they go from one situation to another without any kind of transition or development, but does it matter? Incredibly not. Paul Thomas Anderson has a perfect direction and for very marked periods of time he shows us the ups and downs of a relationship more fanciful than perfect, but equally believable and at some points, even hopeful. I couldn't tell more of the story because I arrived halfway through the movie asking myself "what is the movie about?" and still had no answer. It wasn't until I saw the credits that I understood that the film didn't exactly have a direction, the film is not based on the story, but on what the story makes you feel.

Licorice Pizza nos lleva de la mano de Gary y Alanna, una pareja que a pesar de su diferencia de edad (Gary con 15 y Alanna con 25) pasan juntos la mayor parte del verano de 1973. Con este punto de partida, retomo el hecho de que se siente como un sueño, donde pasan de una situación a otra sin algún tipo de transición o desarrollo, pero, ¿eso importa? Increíblemente no. Paul Thomas Anderson tiene una dirección perfecta y por periodos de tiempo muy marcados nos muestra los altibajos de una relación más fantasiosa que perfecta, pero igualmente creíble y en algunos puntos, hasta esperanzadora. No podría contar más de la historia porque llegue a mitad de la película preguntándome “¿de qué va la película?” y aún no tenía respuesta. No fue hasta que vi los créditos que entendí que la película no tenía exactamente un rumbo, la película no se basa en la historia, sino en lo que te hace sentir la historia.

licorice_pizza_alonso_diaz_de_la_vega_cine_cultura_gatopardo_home_02-1280x587.png


Honestly, Licorice Pizza is more than a good movie, it's an embrace of false nostalgia, one of those dreams that makes you want to not live your life but to be living a movie, it's a relaxing time in the midst of so much chaos. It is something that I would recommend to anyone who wants to disconnect from reality for a moment, because it seriously makes you forget the reality in which you are living.

This is also thanks to the wonderful performances that the film has, but, this is another story. It is that, although this small writing works as a criticism, here I am not going to talk about something really interesting about the film, which are, to the surprise of several, the actor's decisions regarding the production of the film. These decisions seem so interesting to me and something in turn so far from the fantasy of the film, that I prefer to save another post for that.

Sinceramente, Licorice Pizza es más que una buena película, es un abrazo a una nostalgia falsa, un sueño de esos que te hace querer no vivir tu vida sino estar viviendo una película, es un rato relajante en medio de tanto caos. Es algo que recomendaría a cualquier persona que se quiere desconectar un momento de la realidad, porque en serio te hace olvidar la realidad en la que estás viviendo.

Esto también es gracias a las maravillosas actuaciones que tiene la película, pero, esto ya es otra historia. Es que, aunque este pequeño escrito funciona como una crítica, aquí no pienso hablar de algo realmente interesante sobre la película, que son, para sorpresa de varios, las decisiones del actor en cuanto a la producción de la película. Estas decisiones me parecen tan interesantes y algo a su vez tan aparte de la fantasía de la película, que prefiero guardarme otro post para eso.

5129233.jpg

Consider to follow our curation trail on steemauto We thanks all the support.

Sin título-2.png

To all of you artists out here at Steemit! If you ever are lost please join Bokura No Digital World at our discord chat

All Rights Reserved - @Takeru255

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency