Hive Open Mic Week 2 - "This Pretty Planet" (Cover) - A Singalong Folk Song for Earth Day

WildVoices-Kate-01.jpg

Here's a song for Earth Day, yay! Personally, I spent much of the day outdoors. I lit a fire in the forest this morning, and then I worked in our garden, and I have the grit under my fingernails to prove it. :)

Lovely rainy afternoon here in Austin, Texas, and I even added to the precipitation with some tears of my own. Lots of emotions rolling through. It's a tender time in world history, and I have to remind myself: "This too shall pass." Naturally, I am feeling the ups and downs, and spinning around—just like our pretty planet.

This Pretty Planet

Here's my entry to Hive Open Mic - Week 2. The theme is "Golden Sun," and so this song comes to mind as a perfect fit for the open mic as well as Earth Day. Synchronistic!

This song I'm sharing here is written and composed by Tom Chapin in 1988, I think. I learned this song through oral tradition, and recently discovered that the original version is different from the one I know and love, so I'm sharing it the way that is most familiar to me.

Lyrics:

This pretty planet spinning through space
You're a garden, you're a harbor, you're a holy place
Golden sun 'clipsing from view
Gentle blue giant, we do love you
All through the night
Safe 'til the morning light

We Do Love You

Today, on Earth Day, I'm thankful for this simple creek that runs outside our door. We see snapping turtles and painted turtles hanging out in here sometimes, along with occasional great blue herons. Currently, there are dragonflies buzzing about. Fireflies at night.

WildVoices-Kate-04.jpg

WildVoices-Kate-03.jpg

I'm happy to be here on Hive. This is my first post, although I did have a good run with Steemit a while back, so it's not entirely new territory to me. I think it's been almost two years! Anyhow, Earth Day and the open mic speak to my heart. So here I am.

WildVoices-Kate-02.jpg

With heart,

@wildfamily

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency