The Worlds Most Famous Plughole - Mission Impossible Movie Set

ladybower_plughole.jpg

Can you believe that this is a movie set?

This may look familiar to you, and for those that visit Ladybower reservoir, it certainly will.
This was actually used as a set piece on the film, Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation.

Here's a clip from youtube showin it:

So with a bit of movie magic, Tom Cruise jumped down giant plughole, however, in reality, he would have killed himself, no matter how accurate he was jumping down it, as there's an 80 foot drop to solid concrete at the bottom.
Year ago, (this is what I was told) there was platforms around the two overflows that are in the Ladybower reservoir, and people could walk around them.
Now days, you get people standing on the edge taking selfies when the water is low, which is one of the most dangerous things you can do. People don't realise just how dangerous it would be if they fell down.

48020352648_97422b977e_k.jpg
One of my drone shots from Bamford Edge, you can make out the other plughole in front of the reservoir wall.

I'm not sure which one they used in the film, whether it be the one at the side of the road, or the one at the other end of the wall, either way, it was amazing to see it on film.
28953520727_d9086a3919_k_3_.jpg
One from the other end of the reservoir, looking up towards Bamford Edge. The weather was rubbish when I shot this with my drone.

I am hoping to get a new drone in the next few months, especially now that the UK laws have changed when it comes to selling prints etc.

This is just a short post for me, although I do like to see things locally that have appeared in movies. This one being one of the more well known local places.

Thanks for checking out my post please click here to follow me on Instagram.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency