Pakistan has armed roller-blade cops

When I saw this pop up on my radar I thought to myself that this "has to be a Babylon Bee" story but no folks, it is a real thing. We have cops with glocks running around on rollerblades in Pakistan. What could possibly go wrong since all you have to do is throw a stick on the ground or run through some grass and the rollerbladers are now at a significant disadvantage.


67786e47182621a4a1ac6c68c28b3b26.jpg
src

Now I'm not in the business of telling any country how they can or should do their own policing but I actually do have a bit of experience with firearms and also rollerblades and I really can't see how this could go particularly well. For one thing, if you have ever fired a weapon you know that it has some kick to it and a big part of firing accurately is based on your footing. I can't imagine having wheels on your feet being terribly conducive to this sort of thing.

I also know that your ability to successfully rollerblade is very dependent on the pavement, once it gets more "gritty" like with bigger exposed stones in the cement mix, this becomes considerably more difficult to skate on. If a person was skating with a gun drawn it seems like this would be a prime moment to accidentally pop off an unintended shot.


https___cdn.cnn.com_cnnnext_dam_assets_210223205529-rollerblading-cops.jpg
src

I have seen a lot of things rolled about by security and police over the past 10 years or so and I get a chuckle any time that I see an officer on a Segway but I never would have thought that police would take to rollerskates.


0d991-causegway.jpg
src

I suppose the Segway method would probably be a bit better because it has stabilizers or whatever they are called that could compensate for the recoil on a gunshot and to some degree, I suppose it could be used for cover and has some level of off-road capability. Rollerblades on the other hand are all but useless in dirt or grass.

I do not know what compelled Pakistan to do this but in my mind it really seems a bit unnecessary and only offers an advantage in very specific situations. I mean, what happens when the perp decides to run up some stairs? You gotta sit down and take off your roller-blades in order to continue the pursuit? What if he jumps a fence? The chase is over at this point, right?

Things just keep getting stranger and stranger in the world and while it aint none of my business, this is, IMO particularly....


logo_dumb_brush.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency