Just doing my job... Green Dung Beetle just as busy as he can be!

Sometimes I am just amazed at what I come across when I am out taking pictures. Just like this picture here of a Green Dung Beetle doing precisely as what mother nature intended him to do... rolling a ball of dung (manure). I find it fascinating that a dung beetle can bury excrement 250 times heavier than itself in one night and some are also known as 'rollers' and they roll dung into round balls. Some tunnelers will bury the excrement wherever they find it and then there is a third group that is known as the dwellers that just live in manure. Often dung is used as a food source or breeding chamber. Dung beetles can come in many different colours and each type of dung beetle has their job depending on what type they are. There are more than 5,000 different types of dung beetles throughout the world. The nocturnal African dung beetle Scarabaeus satyrus is the only known non-human animal to navigate and orient itself using the Milky Way (per the Dung Beetle Wikipedia ). I would have to say they are neat little creatures of habit. I wouldn't want their job, but at least they seem to like it.

A few years ago I was lucky enough to be out on a bike ride out on a bike trail here in Jacksonville, Florida called the Baldwin Trail that runs throughout farmland so fortunately, I came across this opportunity to capture this picture. I had never seen a dung beetle in person before until I came across this guy. I figured it was a perfect opportunity to take photos of him in action.

I had forgotten about this picture until the other day when looking through older photos and when I saw this one, I just had to put it aside to make a post to share with the community. I love learning and sharing knowledge so now I am eager to know if any of you have ever come across one of these guys in nature?

Thanks for your support! Please feel free to comment, vote, resteem and or create your very own post on the subject matter or whatever you wish. If you create a post feel free to link it when you leave a comment. I value each and every vote, comment and resteems that I get. 💜

Hopefully you will find my posts inspirational and continue to check back for future ones! Many thanks for your support!

#dungbeetle #beetle #nature #outdoors #blog #alirivka #ozhiya

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
56 Comments
Ecency