TALES FROM THE GARDEN - Seeds, Broccoli and The Kratky Method

Collecting Seeds For Next Years

image.png

This was my first attempt collecting broccoli seeds... Looks like some of them are good

Steem line 2.png

So now that we have moved into a winter house (yes this time we have an actual house we're living in!), and have access to the basement, I thought we'd try growing some food. Because even in the cold months we need to take action if we want to reach our goal for food sovereignty. I've heard a lot about hydroponics over the years but lately, it seems a lot of people from different circles have been talking about the kratky method.

The Kratky method is a passive hydroponic technique for growing plants suspended above a reservoir of nutrient-rich water. Because it is a non-circulating technique, no additional inputs of water or nutrients are needed after the original application, and no electricity, pumps, or water and oxygen circulation systems are required.[1] The Kratky method has applications both for commercial food production and as a small-scale and low-maintenance technique for home growers. (from the wiki link above)

So far all I have done is get the seeds started in rockwool. I used what I could find (a glass dish) to soak the growing medium, put seeds in and covered the whole thing with a towel... It's sitting on top of our fridge for warmth right now, but I want to get a different tray, something like a proper seedling tray. I think the pyrex dish would work fine for what we're doing but we need it for cooking yummy things!

Passive Hydroponics

image.png

We're going to try growing some food this the winter

Well, we'll see how it goes in a few days...!


Other than that we harvested our last brussels sprouts, little bits of broccoli, and saved a handful of broccoli seeds this week... I think that will be it this year for this garden!

image.png

And as for the seeds, I found an awesome new way to package them from Skillcult:

image.png

That wraps things up for this week's Tales From The Garden, I hope you found some insiration, and see you next week!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency