My Introduction to the Hive Community

Hello Hive!

My name is Sara Jarvie.

Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix, Arizona, January 1, 2020

Arizona

My story starts in Arizona. Home of the breathtaking Grand Canyon.

The family at the Grand Canyon in the early 80s.

One of my all time favorite family pictures!


Photographer

I started my photo journey in high school with film and a dark room. My first camera was a Pentax K1000. I don't have the original but I did buy another one and when I see it I am reminded my beginning days as a photographer. I then had Canon cameras until I recently switched to Nikon so I can shot with my brother and share lens.

While attending college at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah I worked in the campus photo lab and soon began to do wedding and engagement pictures.

I also do individual, children and family portrait photography.

Academic Advisor

While much of what I share on my blog is my photography I have a wonderful career as an academic advisor. I have been advising for 18 years, starting at The George Washington University in Washington DC and now at Arizona State University.


Old Main, at Arizona State University

I get to meet with and become friends with some very amazing people.

Travel

After leaving San Diego I lived in Idaho, Utah, Taiwan (I taught English there and loved it), Washington, DC and now in Arizona.

I have traveled many places in the United States and the world. Many of you might recall my amazing summer in 2019 I went with ASU to Kenya and with my younger siblings to Europe on a family heritage trip.



Most of my travel is in the US and every year I plan to visit my family, DC, Utah, a friend in varying locations and a garden with Chihuly exhibiting there.

This year with COVID19 my travels will be quite limited.


Oregon right outside my parents home in December 2018


DC in the snow


Mount Timpanogos, Utah

You might have noticed that I love the snow! The goal is to live where it snows. Right now I have a wonderful home, friends and job that make Arizona a great place to be. A fun fact is that I really want to build a tiny house and its name will be Serenity and I will have this picture hanging in it.

Writer

In addition to being a photographer I am a writer. So blogging was a great next step and fun challenge.

I self published a ABC book of desert plants called Old Man of the Andes and co-authored my dad's autobiography called Memories of an Old Man. I am now working on a historical fiction novel about my dad's growing up years in 1940's Utah and it will be called South Ender's Gang. The picture below on the right is the gang.


Art

My introduction on Hive wouldn't be complete without my talking about my love of art. To be able to express that interest I created Art Talk. It is a great way to explore the art around me and dive deeper into different topics relating to art and art history.

My most recent Art Talk post Art Talk: NGA French Impressionism Tour



Art Talk: "Felt is a happy fabric."



Art Talk: Emotion In Bronze

Arizona

My story continues in Arizona where I live and work and call home base for my travels. I have started gardening and have a wonderful salad and wildflower garden in my back yard.

Thanks @anomadsoul, @blocktrades and @ocdb for creating an opportunity to re-introduce ourselves to Hive!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency