Diamanda Galás, an auditive experience you must have if you're into horror.

Ready for a not very good post? So am I, so here we go.

Back when I was 12-13, transitioning from a spoiled child who was ditched by parents at 3 months of age and raised by the grandparents, into a rebelling soul against society awakened by the hits of the harsh bats covered in nails and barbed wire, a History teacher who was trying to soothe the inner beast that I was containing by telling me about the interests I was starting to obtain, told me about Diamanda Galás. I was getting into Metal, very young and not so much into the culture behind the artists per se so I didn't really pay much attention to it.

As a grown up however, getting back to this artist and listening to her compositions is truly its own experience. Just like when listening to Gnaw Their Tongues... At moments you will feel down to earth and then she can start singing in ways that her voice will pierce you in such a way that it feels like the ground beneath your feet just keeps on falling down endlessly as you fall down with it. Your face wants to rip itself from your head and your body is all over the place experiencing frequencies.
She has many songs but I guess the one that I've always heard of and had stuck in my head (I guess the title helps) has been "The Litanies of Satan".

Care to have a listen? Here you go :


I mean, the title sort of says it all. This was pretty much what I listened to when I was 12-13. Obviously at that age I didn't really care about it. I thought it was just annoying, I wanted Metal bands cause that's what was "TRVE KRIEG BLEEEUURRGGG", but this is just absolutely fantastic. I love the fading voices upon fading voices and the effect it produces upon along with the modulations. You know all those ARGs where they make all those noises and whatnot in the recent years? Yeah, Diamanda Galás was doing it in 1982.

But I guess that's it, I don't really have much more to add on to the topic. Go have your own experiences listening to Galás and hopefully she's an artist you can enjoy. It really isn't just for anyone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency