Music Cover Tuesday's - Entry #2

Continuing from last week's theme with my favorite Cover Songs that I'll post every Tuesday I decided to share a few with you all this week. I think these are some of the most well known older cover songs that people usually don't even know are covers because of how famous the artists covering them are.

For starters, I think there are lots of people who would be surprised to find out that The Beatles - "Twist & Shout" is a cover. It was originally written in '61 by Phil Medley and Bert Berns. The song first became a chart hit as a cover single by the Isley Brothers in 1962.

Following that cover up, I give you The Byrds rendition of "Turn! Turn! Turn!" which many will recognize as it's been used in a ton of movie soundtracks over the years. The song was written by Pete Seeger in the late 50's and The Byrds released their folk-rock arrangement of the song in 1965.

Lastly, I bring you the most surprising cover of all to me, which is Aretha Franklin's "Respect." I would've never guessed that this wasn't written by her as she made it so popular with her rendition of it in 1967. It was originally written and released by non-other than the great Otis Redding in 1965.

I hope you enjoyed this weeks installment of Music Cover Tuesday's. Let me know which track was your favorite and what genres you'd like to see covered in the future. I have a large and ever growing list, so stay tuned.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency