Mexican Murals - Axolotls Wherever You Look!

Axolotols, Wherever You Look!

Just after publishing my last mural post featuring an axolotl, I came across two more murals of this cute looking Mexican amphibian.

Being endemic to the immediate area, meaning the lake that today has grown into one of the biggest urban sprawls of the hemisphere, it is no wonder that the axolotl enjoys such great popularity, including as a favored motive for murals. Of course, being critically endangered also helps, as does having a cute face. But there is more to it, as I've found out.

Water, Water, Everywhere!

Sure, I could have added them to the recently published post, but then I started wondering... Isn't it interesting that almost all of the murals I've encountered recently are somehow related to water? So I looked into it, and found out: The SACMEX or Sistema de Aguas de la Ciudad de México (waterworks of Mexico City) has been sponsoring water-related murals in the City of Mexico. The project is called hidroARTE and they are in their sixth edition now. No wonder there are so many murals everywhere, mostly having to do with water.

So now that I know this, I could just as well cheat. See, so far I let the cool street-art surprise me. Once I happened to walk by one, I took a picture of it, and then went online to look for more info. Now I could see the pieces before visiting them myself to take a pic. Hmmm... I'm not sure if that's a good idea. Besides, there are so many wall paintings that I keep seeing by chance anyway, maybe I should just continue this way.

Artists and Locations?

Just to make the necessary mentions, the first one of these two axolotls can be seen on the street Montes Urales, close to the intersection with Volcan street, in the Lomas de Chapultepec neighborhood. The second one is on Diagonal Patriotismo, between Alfonso Reyes and Circuito Interior José Vasconcelos in the Condesa neighborhood.

As for the artists, once again I have to draw a blank. :-( The first one even left a tag. But can anyone make sense of it? MKESNDON? Mike Sound On? I'm so sorry for not being able to convey the artist, so you can check out more of their murals and possibly other pieces of whoever created this huge axolotl.

If you liked this, check out my developing series on Mexican murals:  

Please check out these great communities I'm contributing to: 


#ecotrain | What is EcoTrain | Discord Community


#tribesteemup |The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp


#team-mexico | Discord Community

Join us on Discord

#cyclefeed | Introducing CycleFeed | Discord Community


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency