Mexican Murals - New Pictures on Old Walls

As we all know, art is not eternal, and this includes murals. With time they get old, fade out, or the plaster on the wall starts coming off. Many times, before that happens old murals are painted over, hopefully by newer and better ones. Though even a poor graffiti is often better than an empty gray wall.

Today I want to look at walls I have already presented once (or twice), which are still painted in bright, colorful images, which are not the ones I posted about. It seems like certain walls are better suited for murals, or maybe whoever is in charge of them wants to keep them fresh and new looking. It's also nice to see new images to break up the monotony.

Killer Cats and Flying Foxes

Do you remember my first mural in this series? It was about Winston Churchill and a kid on a bike. Well, by now the imagery has been changed to a type of fox flying on robot wings, and an evil looking cat holding a big blade. I'm not sure if this image is an improvement, especially after the mixed media or using an actual kid's bike in the former mural. Though I do kinda like the fox... I wish I could read the yellow graffiti writing next to it.

P_20191204_102025.jpg

P_20191204_101946.jpg

Abstract Geometry Over Cactus Mural

Talking about weird graffiti writing, which I always suck at makinging out intelligable words from, here is another wall that I've featured already, a long time ago. Who remembers my Cactus Competition? Well, those pretty succulents have been replaced by... I'm not entirely sure by what. It is made up of a bunch of lines, all in monochrome, which may add up to a cryptic message, or it may just be simply playing around with perspective. In this case I must say, I do miss the cacti!

P_20191014_072657.jpg

A New Film-related Image on the Casa Picnic

Well, this is the third time that I'm posting about the Casa Picnic, as they seem to be keen on sponsoring local muralists to cover this big and prominent wall with a well noticeable painting. Once again, the imagery is related to the movies, featuring a huge "C" for Cinépolis, a major chain of Mexican movie theaters. Also the artist behind the image is the same as last time, Omar Arias, a.k.a. Alter Os.

P_20191201_150229.jpg

Once again, I'm don't particularly like this new mural. The popcorn, film reel, and director's chair are way too stereotypical images representing the film industry, and the E.T. snow-bowl I just think is corny. But never mind! Knowing the Casa Picnic, there will be a new mural on this wall, probably within the next two months.

If you liked this, check out my developing series on Mexican murals:  

Please check out these great communities I'm contributing to: 


#ecotrain | What is EcoTrain | Discord Community


#tribesteemup |The 8 Pillars of @TribeSteemUp


#team-mexico | Discord Community

Join us on Discord

#cyclefeed | Introducing CycleFeed | Discord Community


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency