Multiple Sclerosis, Invisible Disabilities, and SSDI

I wrote this for someone else but I thought I should post this here for anyone contemplating potentially going on SSDI (aka Disability) in the States... I have Multiple Sclerosis (diagnosed in 1994) and Fibromyalgia (since 2000).

"...I didn't consider myself disabled until a few months after I was laid off (by a MEDICAL SCHOOL, no less!) from HMS. I had an impossible time finding a full-time job to replace what I was laid off from (I am sure but can't prove HMS disclosed my illness to potential employers I interviewed with) and when I FINALLY found work I was awful at things that used to be super easy for me. So, I eventually "bit the bullet" and got on disability. It sucks because the pay is pathetic but, I was able to go back to shool and finish my BA (not ever truly going to be able to use it, unfortunately. It was nice to be able to go back though.) It took a few years for SSDI to be approved but, if I had sought out help from a government official in my area (especially during times of election), I would have probably been approved much sooner. Just take my advice if and when you do apply for SSDI (if and when): don't make the same mistakes I did. Don't try to pretend to be a "Wonderwoman". You won't have a chance of being considered disabled if they think you are capable of just about ANYTHING at all. I thought acting strong and confident would work in my favor and all it did was make me have to wait for almost FOUR F'ING YEARS to get approved."

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency