What is Important for us; only we can decide

A couple of days ago I was travelling by Taxi, and the Taxi driver suddenly said, I want your advice. I kind of know him since he regularly drives me to work, so I said sure go ahead....

In Oman it is very common for the local people to do corporate jobs and drive taxis in their free time. He said he is confused, he is working in a job but he is not very happy. I checked with him, what was the reason behind his unhappiness; so his reason was that his family stays far away, his son has medical needs and he is not able to be with him so his whole attention is on his family and he cannot concentrate on work, and moreover he has 12hrs of work which is again odd hours and his own health is getting affected. I checked with him about his financial condition and if he would leave the job, how is he going to survive. He had his alternatives in place which were quite decent, then I was confused that if everything is so clear what is the reason stopping him to quit. His answer was that everyone is advising him that he should not quit the job as that is the only stable thing and hence he is confused if he should quit or not....

I could very well relate to him since I have gone through almost a similar situation. I had wanted to quit my job way back but I always felt that without a job I will not have stability in my life and it is the only robust thing for my sustenance.
But I was so wrong, since the time I quit my job I feel more relaxed, and have a better approach to alternatives.

There are couple of things here

  • We do a certain work because it pays good money to us but we are not happy with what we are doing
  • We do a particular work even if we do not enjoy it because we have very high ambitions of reaching up the corporate ladder but in the bargain we overlook all the other aspects of life.
  • Or we do a particular work because we are in need of finances and we have loads of responsibilities which do not give us space to do things that we want.

All situations are not good; life is about many more things than status, position and money, but at the same time one cannot even overlook the day to day requirements which need to be fulfilled.

image.png
Source

Money is very important, there is no doubt about it but a lot of us are stuck with this mindset that only a proper job can bring us money and stability. I do not say that you should quit your job and sit back home enjoying life; it doesn't happen that way. You have your bills, rents, loans and all the possible expenses. So before you quit a little planning on the other alternatives will be required.

But what is worth it is to do something that does not make you feel good and happy and everyday going to work becomes one cumbersome exercise. The most important thing is to be happy in whatever work you do.
The mood spent at your workplace follows back home and gets passed on to the family, hence it is very important to be happy in your mind. Good and Happy Thoughts will follow good actions.

The Balance in our professional life and Family life is very important. In my previous job I have seen people making work their only agenda in life, everyone wants to grow up the corporate ladder fast be it at the expense of their family time or at the expense of their own happiness. They are not happy with what they are doing but they are still doing it because the job is heavily paid and money is all that matters to them. I ask many of them what they would do in life if they had to quit working and they would not have any answer since they have never thought about life beyond their workplace. It's a very sad situation but it does exist.

I wish we can all look at life in a more broader aspect, giving a 360 degree view rather than limiting our focus in one direction. The most important thing is to feel good with yourself when we are doing something and if that does not exist then it's a real stress of doing whatever we are doing and when any job is done with that attitude it does not even bring in the success we desire. Success is not always about money. It's the internal satisfaction that one has to feel.

Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈ

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency