i designed my first metaverse space

Here's what it looks like from the outside.

077 outside flux hq.png

CryptoVoxels is a metaverse built on ethereum and home to a bunch of metaverse art exhibits and experiments.

Land in the Cryptovoxel metaverse is tokenized on ethereum and can be bought or sold on Opensea. With the exception of "sandbox" style parcels, people can only build on parcels that they own.

Luckily there is a free mode to build in called "spaces" where you get a parcel-sized space to build on. These spaces are located "near the void" and not connected to the actual metaverse. It strikes a nice balance by allowing somebody like me to try building stuff in this metaverse without having to make an upfront investment.

Welcome inside Flux HQ

When you load up the space, you start out in a central chamber facing my personal genesis NFT.

078 loading in.png

The walls are non-descript, if I had textures on them they would look better. These are the kinds of details I am learning as I begin my journey into metaverse interior design and/or architecture.

It's still cool to see my own tokenized NFT on display in a metaverse art space. I can get better at the details as I go.

There's a door to the left.

079 the door to leave.png

This door would take us outside but there's nothing out there since we are not connected to the actual metaverse -- only the void.

Instead I can go up the stairs to get to the second and final floor of my first test space.

080 inside.png

Both of the artworks hanging up here are ones I own in my NFT Showroom wallet. There's more info about them in my recent post documenting my latest purchases.

I put a song there too just to test the audio feature -- it works great! The song is my first submission for the Crypto Raiders soundtrack competition, it's fun to hear it inside of this digital space.

Metaverse obsession brewing?

I feel like metaverses are a key ingredient of the culture around NFTs. The continually improving experience of using our NFTs in digital metaverse spaces will keep the builders and true believers engaged with the NFT movement.

This test space for me is just a very small step into the world of metaverse art. Cryptovoxels is just one of quite a few major options in this space, with Sandbox and Decentraland being the biggest. There's so much to learn and I will have to do a lot of research so I can get educated on this aspect of blockchain.

If you have not tried the Cryptovoxels app yet, you really should. It's free and runs in your browser. Try it out here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency