THINKING OUTSIDE THE BOX FOR MARKETFRIDAY

IMG_8866.JPG

The last year has forced most of us to think outside the box - radically. It also means many of us have become far more recluse than we ever imagined we'd be. I don't get out much. And I choose it that way. Considering I was a globe trotter and spent years savouring other cultures, countries and cuisine it hasn't been easy. But I have discovered the most amazing market with absolutely everything you can ever imagine in one small area. And everything comes wrapped in a eco friendly box that doubles up as a time machine!

IMG_8476.JPG

The global market has exploded this last year and online shopping has become the way to get out. In the last month I have been able to enjoy the diversity of this modern day market. All from the safety of my home sweet homestead. The first batch of boxes to be delivered were our adorable pullets. We love our lohmann brown hens. They have are so calm and interactive. These young hens came n eatly wrapped in boxes that said "Cooking made Easy"! I hope those chickens can't read!

IMG_7959.JPG

Next, after some backwards and forwards of confused couriers, my new pair of running shoes arrived. Few of you know that I retired my running shoes years ago. In those globe trotting days I mentioned earlier I didn't simply trot - I ran. Up to 20km a day. And I loved it. Despite a different type of strenuous activity on the homestead this past decade I have finally decided to pull on the running shoes again. Waiting for the right pair was worth it.

IMG_9205.JPG

Hot on the heels of my beautiful running shoes were two tiny boxes that promise to make huge quantities of foods. My rennet, plus cultures for cheese and yoghurt making is always a special box to unpack. So keep your eyes peeled because the next cheesemaking post will be up next week! Then, true to my hippie organic homesteading requirements dozens of teeny packets of even teenier heirloom seeds has been carefully stored. Mostly veggies, some herbs - of course - and a few trees. Like the tamarillo. It's winter now so we'll be using the time to prepare for our big spring planting.

IMG_0115.JPG

The next box was rather small but heavy. Inside another treasure trove of goods for my wonderful soap making. I had to open each wonderful essential oil to savour their unique scents. This time I also bought kaolin clay for deodorant as well as shea butter to make more body butters. Anyone getting excited yet? I love making all the natural goodies but I'll have camera in hand now so that I can share them as tutorials. I kickstarted the D-I-Y posts yesterday with Soap Making

IMG_0118.JPG

We then received 4 big heavy boxes. Inside black gold! Well it is to me and my children who have such diverse taste buds. Because our olive trees have been struggling with bugs after the drought, we have had to buy olives. Mission. 40kg! So you can expect another post of my big brining project. We're already in the fourth week of the salty bath.

IMG_8387.JPG

The last box is not going to feature today because in my excitement I unpacked and washed the contents before taking a photo. It was a box full of beautiful fabric. I'm doing winter sewing for my family. Part of the sewing also included making an adorable baby set of clothing and cloth diaper for a pregnant friend.

IMG_8486.JPG

Recently I promised the lovely @dswigle that I had a box of fun for her #marketfriday. The other posts she reblogs offer such a wonderful view of other countries and a culture which distinguishes them from others. It is a unique way of travelling without going anyway! This has been a month of online markets as I've ordered a bumper load of boxes. But the reality is that even this global market will not be seeing me for a while. In the last year both my business have been closed. It has been the cause of concern because the boxes I order are both for products for my family as well as to make goodies for both businesses. Here's to believing that there will be an unexpected box of unimaginable new opportunity.

With so many exciting boxes. With so many interesting contents promising a number of diverse projects, you may well ask; when do I plan to sleep I ask myself that same question too....

IMG_8456.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency