It's the principle of the thing

So our building has been going through a bit of a renovation (one we never really wanted, personally), and as is the Romanian habit, there's been a fair bit of stealing, and efforts to amp up that juicy cash flow. Meaning there's been quite a bit of pressure from the renovation crew for residents to change things that don't really need changing, like their windows, in order for money to flow in the right pocket. Now, most of these costs are taken out of public money, with residents being asked to actually cover a small percentage.

And as is our habit, we've been among the very few to resist this pointless, unnecessary change, seeing it for what it is, a cash grab. Our next door neighbors were also initially saying 'no', since they only moved in a couple years ago, and installed their windows then. So, they're of high quality, and new merchandise that doesn't need changing. They also told me that the renovation company was pressuring them to pay extra to have their own windows (their own property, mind) re-installed, rather than getting the new ones.

And they caved. The workers didn't come to their door (though they might've knocked on their window a few times). There were no police visits, no heated arguments at the door. Just this unpleasant current situation. And they caved.

image.png

Now, personally, I don't give a rat's ass what my neighbors do, just like I don't care whether they're vaxxed, wear masks, or whatever else. It is their life. What baffles me is how easily they gave up when clearly, they were in the right. They were being subjected (like we all are) to extortion and manipulative practices. They had every right to oppose this, since what the workers were suggesting was, basically, a destruction of their private property, and thus punishable by law.
But they let that go. They told us that they didn't like being the odd one out, or creating a mess, and so they agreed to pay to have their balcony torn down, and put back up again.

I just don't get how some people can honestly say yes, my rights are being trampled. Yes, I am being manipulated and fucked with, but I don't care. I just want there to be peace.

I'm all in favor of peace, and I know nobody wants to rock the boat, but when your rights are at stake, you motherfucking rock that boat.

Obviously, this is a small issue in the grand scheme of things, yet it is this sort of mindset that is creating a lot of our modern day problems. This willingness to say alright, and spread your cheeks a little further for the authority that is fucking you. I think maybe, sometimes, it's best to clench. Not because the abuse is monumental, but you know, for the principle of the thing.

I don't know how this whole thing will end. But it seems to me that, at the very least, you'd fight so you can honestly say you did all you could, when all is said and done.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency