Sunset - the progression of the light

I won't apologise for featuring a bridge and a colourful sky again on my blog. However, the Humber Bridge, by contrast to the Town Bridge in Stamford used to hold the record for being the longest single-span suspension bridge in the world. It hasn't held that title since 1998 and has now dropped to only tenth place but it is still the biggest single-span suspension bridge you can cross by foot.

DSC_5354-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_5433-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_5443-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

I didn't have time to cross the bridge but spent a windy 3-4 hours capturing the transition from day into night from the park on the Lincolnshire side. One thing that surprised me was just how dark it didn't get even by 10pm, though my lens picked up the increased contrast between the bright streetlights and the background and rewarded me with a lovely starburst effect as you can see in the final photo.

Equipment Used

  • Nikon D7000
  • Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8
  • Tripod and remote release
  • Cokin Nuances 10-stop ND filter
  • Adobe Lightroom
  • DxO Nik Collection - Color Efex Pro

More UK images on my blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency