A lost star



Link

The stars fade.

The winds shift, the clouds move and darken.

Then one day, the stars are gone.

The sun is down and dark, and a beautiful, lustrous ocean rains upon the throne of heaven. I watch, as from afar, the skies burn with a deep, intense light.

'The sun is gone,' I think, 'The Sun has fallen behind this side of the Castle. I could not have created this solstice.'

The stars fade until they are no longer stars.

The moon travels in bright rays over the ocean, vanishing into the darkness of the castle's cliffs, and beyond.

Then everything sleeps.

The war drums echo, and I think that I hear the souls of my ancestors scream and sing into the night, fighting the final battle against the demons and devils. They fear my new kingdom and have been vanquished.

I move my fingers, my hands, my arms, my torso, and make a great sound – a sound that fills all the rocks and the sky. I take a deep breath and blow. The sound echoes in the valleys, and the deep and the loud.

I walk the sea and wander, as it is my time to be on the land now. I feel that the Lord will not be able to sleep for long. He has been defeated. The demons have been vanquished, and have been given one more chance.

I journey north, a thousand leagues, into the north-west, where the red sun rises. I stand in the middle of the land for a long time, and make a great and intense sound. I wait, as the Lord sleeps. Then, I go to the mountains and make a new sound, and wait again, veiled in the black of the tall mountains.

I travel east, a million leagues, on the south side of the castle, where the golden sun rises and falls.

I stand in the middle of the land, and make a great and intense sound, and wait. The Lord sleeps.

I travel north, to the country of the sea-stones, and lie in the middle of the kingdom, and make a great and intense sound. I wait, and the Lord sleeps.

I sit in the middle of the ocean on the coast of the sunless sea, where the sea-stones come from. I close my eyes and face the sun, and capture it, and hold it in the palm of my hands. I twist my fingers, and manipulate the fiery core of the Sun.

The golden-red core that has been pushed back into the centre of the sun in my core shrinks and becomes dim and cool. It becomes a black, pebbly, dark and warm mass in my hands.

I smile and concentrate. I crunch and crack every piece and piece of the sun back into a great black sphere. The sphere burns inside, as all the sun's core becomes my great sphere of darkness.

I hold it in the palm of my hand. I feel the vibration and sound of the sun along my fingertips. I walk back to the sea, and divine the solstice – a great blackness or emptyness in the centre of my hands - and lay it on a dark, rocky, red peak.

I jump down the rocky-red hill toward the sea. I let the darkness fall into the ocean, and the dark, sparkling, and translucent mass stretches out and fills the ocean until the ocean is completely black.

The Lord sleeps.

My father, my king, sleeps.

My brothers and brothers-in-law have been vanquished, and I have now, in my lifetime, conquered the demons and the devils and the monsters, and its time to sleep.

I run through the kingdom, and into the castle, and the halls, and the passageways, I run down the path, over the rainbows, through the ancient halls, and into the rooms, I run onward, down the stairs, into the kingdom, and into my chambers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency