An Egyptian tremor


Link

…Through the vast desert of Egyptian time and space, the Ani, what would become the Egyptians, swept in from the great prairies of Asia.

In time they rounded the marshes of Africa, their ancestor, the Great Black Clan of the African Clan. They settled in the great deserts of Nubia and the east. It was from their descent from the Black Clan that they developed. In time they crossed the great ocean of being to Amarna from their lands in the east.

They settled in the sands of the land and time, bit by bit, they settled the land and time. The Ani grew in numbers and approached the great cities of the gods. The Ani hunted the wild bulls which roamed the great cities. Temples built to the gods across the desert landscape.

But the Ani were still young, not yet civilized. They were raw, barbarian warriors. They raided the great cities and temples, attacking the people but careful not to damage the temples to the gods.

It was a very hot summer day. The Ani sat in the shade of the bungalow's porch. The company of Terri sat peacefully on the porch. The air was heavy and humid, the heat was just beginning to rise.

"How is your mother, Terri?" Manuel asked Terri.

"She is well, believe it or not." Terri answered.

"She does not attack you?"

"No."

"I know she hurts you, Terri. I know she is jealous." Manuel said as he looked out over the growing desert heat. "I hate to see you unhappy."

"I know, Uncle." Terri answered. "But I don't know what to do. I wish that almost anything would make her happy."

"I know, Terri. But that is not possible in any way. If it were not for the sunlight, you may not have lived on your own. You may not have become what you are today. Perhaps, you would be dead."

"That is true. You are right. I am glad that I lived."

"How is the rest of the family? Your sister seems to be doing well." Manuel asked.

"The rest of the family is well. You know, uncle, the Great Tutti does not attack me. He does not even try."

"No, I did not think he would. The Great Tutti is a wise emperor. He knows when to make war and when not to."

"Will another war begin with the Egyptian Clan?" Terri asked.

"No. The Great Pharaoh has found peace, Terri. The gods have smiled on the people of Egypt." Manuel said.

"What about the other clans?"

"We have kept them at peace. They have not challenged us. The people of the herd are staying to themselves. The Ani even now, are nearly ready to begin their civilization. But that may not happen for some time. The Ani will need another long season to grow."

"And mother? What about mother?" Terri asked.

"Don't be concerned about mother. The gods have forgiven her violation of the eating taboo. She will recover. You should have seen her, Terri. She will recover."

"You think that she will seek to attack me?"

"No, Terri. What do you take me for, Terri? Did I think that you would expose her to such pain?" Manuel asked.

"Yes, Uncle." Terri said. "But she is my mother," Terri said.

"You are the most compassionate of females. I am proud you as my niece."

"I love her, Uncle." Terri said.

"I know you do. That is why the gods show her as she is. They love you too, Terri." Manuel said.

"They are jealous that I love her, Uncle." Terri said.

"That makes them angry. Angry at you, Terri. They want to make you suffer, but they cannot. The gods are not so terrible." Manuel said.

"I wish that they could just make her happy. If only she could just be happy." Terri said. "What will happen to her, Uncle?"

"She will recover, Terri." Manuel said. "She is still young. You are still young."

"But growing older every day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency