The deadly waterfall of an endless river


Link

And so our journey had come to a close. Now everything had been settled, everything was going to be fine. I sighed, feeling a new calmness in my soul. I had seen the future, and it was bright. It was bright and beautiful, and though it did not matter to me, I was glad that it was my future I looked at.

I was about to get up from my bed, when a light blinding light invaded my closed eyelids.

It was then that I started hearing a harsh, old voice. It was a voice, one I had heard before, a voice I did not know. And it was a peculiar voice, one I did not know it to be. But it was a voice which had a strong, resonant force to it.

“You shall never know, what this power is and how it can be used to tear down the strongest and sturdiest walls. And you shall not stand to stop its storm, as you know me as it is I.” The voice spat.

I could not stand to open my eyes yet as the blinding light was as blinding as the voice itself. My head throbbed as if great flashes of lightning were striking down from the sky itself.

Soon enough, the light died away, and the thundering bolts of lightning waned. Yet the throbbing pain from my head, from my very soul, only heightened.

As my eyes began to open, I saw my hands, my bloodied hands, my hands which had turned white. I sat up, crying out with the pain my body was experiencing. Tears dribbled out of my eyes, the pain was so great.

The moment I looked over, I saw something, something which froze me in place. Something which I could not comprehend.

It was not there, it could not be there. There was no way it could be there. It was only one thing it could be, one thing which I knew it not to be.

And that was that the world before my eyes was no longer the golden brown of old, but now a yellowish white.

I fell to my knees, losing myself in the pain of shock, which now filled my entire being. I looked up, looking at what was before me. And I saw a sight, a sight which I will never forget, a sight which would haunt every time I closed my eyes.

It was a sight which I never thought to see, a sight which will stay with me for all eternity.

I looked at the river, at where I once stood. And I saw a long, long stretch of river, a river which was very wide, very wide indeed, yet it was a river which was long, a river which was deep.

Alas, I thought to myself, as I saw a huge waterfall, a river so deep and wide as to be a waterfall which had a sheer height of a good twenty feet. It was a waterfall, a waterfall unlike any I had ever seen in my entire life. And I had never seen such a magnificent waterfall in my entire life, nor did I wish to see such a thing, such a thing which troubled my very psyche.

I fell to the ground once more, for this sight would haunt my dreams. And I knew that it would haunt my dreams for all time. Ever. Forever.

It did not matter, did not matter at all. I rose, and I walked to the nearest stream, and I took a good hard look at the reflection of the river.

There was no longer a brilliant, golden yellowish brown waters. It was now a dull, flat, dull, uninteresting yellowish white. And in the reflection of the water, was a grizzled and worn facial expression, and a thick head of curly coal black hair. It was a sight, a sight which I never thought to see. And I did not want to see it either.

I shook my head, and I left the stream. I then walked into the forest, to see it, what was left of it.

There was nothing to see. For the forest was no longer mine. Where there were splashes of vibrant green, ferns, leaves, and thick, tropical undergrowth were all gone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency