One day Rain 🌧 the next Sun 🌞 with a few Sunflowers and seeds 🌻🌱 to brighten my day. 😎🌞

We had so much rain yesterday that a road was closed that is close to us was flooded, that flooded a man was using his kayak, today its a beautiful sunny day with no signs of anything from yesterday. Here is a photo from yesterday's newspaper.


FLOODS 21 1.jpg

This road floods all the time, you would think the Council would do something, more drainage, raise the roads, its every year and will probably flood again later this year. The public house on the corner has to use sand bags piled up at the doors to stop the water from flooding the pub.

Changing the subject

My Sunflowers have come to the end if there lifecycle, all the leaves are turning Brown and a couple of heads are dying before they have opened. I can't moan as have had a really good year and saved loads of seed from this years crop for next years Sunflower garden. I am glad I chose to grow only one flower this year, I have had so much enjoyment from this year garden that I am now looking forward to a bigger and better one next year, the plan's have started already.

I had a few Sunflower heads drying out in my greenhouse, it is time to harvest more seeds.


MORE SEEDS 06 10TH 21 1.jpg

I have a tray of the purple seeds drying out before I put them in a Pot, I am going to finish removing the seeds from the head today. I may get a couple more heads from my plants before I start to remove them from the pots but won't be many as the plant are dying. I am going to have quite a few green bags to take to the recycling centre.

I have 3 trays of seeds on the windowsill drying out before being stored away for next year,


MORE SEEDS 06 10TH 21 2.jpg

These will take about a week to dry out, I leave them for this long as last year the seeds I saved all went mouldy and I don't want that to happen again.

Whilst I was removing the seeds hubby was playing with Luna, when we go outside she loves to be picked up so she can see over the fences to see what is going in, she loves to have a little grumble at people passing the house, she is really nosey. Hubby had her sitting on his shoulder so she could get a better look.


LUNA NOSEY 2.jpg

She loves being up there watching everyone and protecting her family. As you can see behind hubby there is a very very tall Sunflower, this has been my tallest this year, hubby is around 5ft 10 making that Sunflower nearing 8ft. There us only a small Sunflower head but still excited about its height. As you can also se the leaves are turning brown so won't be long before I am removing those heads, I hope there are a few seeds on there and they don't die before they mature.

We are expecting a couple more nice days which will give me time to tidy away what has already died, I should be able to fill a couple of green bags and put a few pots away. I still have to do some pruning. I need to make a list of my tasks then I know they will get done. That's a job for tonight whilst lying in bed.

Thank you for visiting. 💟💟


hive-blog-share 5.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency