Dreadlock Journey #1 04/27/2020 2 months 24 Days

Not really sure if anybody is interested in Rastafarian or dreadlocks but I'm posting my journey anyways so I can go back and see how far I've come. Also to put knowledge out there that I don't see on the world wide web. I'm almost at my three month mark which will be May 3, 2020. I started my dreadlocks with the crotchet needle method which seems to be looked down upon in the deadlock community for black people. Most people with straight hair use the method and since my hair texture would allow me to do some of the tradition method like back combing I used the crotchet method. I also got extensions in the front due to my hair thinning out which also is looked down upon but I personally look at hair extension like putting foil on a television antenna. My hair is my spiritual antennas and that's why I've decided to try the Rastafarian life style.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Those are my day one photos from Feb 3, 2020. I watched a lot of YouTube videos and searched the web looking at the up and downs of dreadlocks, seeing the different styles, and seeing the different meanings. After letting my hair grow out for almost one year I decided it was time for me to fly to Sacramento, Ca and get my hair done. I was very interested in the Rastafarian way of life. The only that threw my off was gong vegan. Everywhere I look it seem you had to vegan. Until I read from Rastafarian holy bible which is basically the King James version. Basic it's okay to eat meat just not all meat. So I was down for that. When I first got the dreadlocks I was scared to wash my hair and mess them up or scared they were going to come out. But soon realized washing your hair helps the lock up faster and made the itching go away which was driving me crazy for a like a week.

My hair grew faster than it normal did. My dreadlocks were starting to connect at the roots so I decided it was time for a maintenance job which required me to fly back to California. During the virus I was scared my saloon may have been closed but to my luck it wasn't yet. This time around I decided to dye my hair so later down I can see just how much new growth was there

image.png

image.png

After

image.png

image.png

It's been almost a month since I got my hair re-twisted and parts are still looking good to me. I will be posting about the new foods I will be trying along with other things I learn. Feel free to leave a comment to ask a question. I don't know everything but will do my best to answer any question.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency