How much can you grow in a month?

Quote Mindset.png

Today we left Knysna. We were there for two days shy of a month! I cannot actually believe that it was that long, it flew by so fast. It was so needed. I am so grateful!

These two photos were taken almost a month apart. When we arrived, the last wintery chills could still be felt at night, when you need to go and get extra blankets to wrap up in and stay cozy.

The Chestnut tree was dormant then and sleeping soundly still. It was only after two weeks of us being there that I could see the first green shoots starting to show that her sleep was over, she was coming into her own again and by today when we left, she looked splendid in her greenery.

I looked at that tree for a while before we left and thought about how much I had grown in the last month. What had I learned? What had I achieved? It was bittersweet us saying "It's been rad here; Bye bye little wooden house", it will forever hold memories of laughter and tears, happiness, adventure, pain and sorrow, - myriad other thoughts and feelings too.

How much can you grow in a month? I suppose it depends on how much you WANT to, how much you NEED to and your capacity to evoke action within yourself and then transmit that into your external world. This month has been a growth spurt for me - mentally and emotionally. I think it has been for Lory too, mostly physically though (I had to buy her new clothing while we were there because in a month she outgrew almost all of her clothes).

It takes a long time to grow into a strong Chestnut, many winters and many springs. I wonder what this growth ring of mine would look like if I were a tree.


Calvin Hobbes Divider.png
Calvin & Hobbes - Bill Watterson


Photographs are my own unless otherwise stated.


Rachel Carson Quote.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency