Why I Hate Intros

Books and Travel.jpg

Hi! I’m Krystal and I hate introductions. Not the best way to open an intro post, I know.

But I see blog intros as the written equivalent of standing in front of class on the first day of school and just about showing everyone how awkward you are. (Yes, this is me being awkward in front of all you wonderful Hivers. Hello.)

I do recall standing in front of our high school freshman class claiming that my talent was singing. I belted the highest part of Celine Dion’s My Heart Will Go On, only to croak the lyrics out of tune. I find it hilarious now but 13-year-old me? Not so much.

Older and wiser now, I no longer claim that I’m a very good singer (haha) but one thing you should definitely know about me is that I love stories so so sooo much. And by stories I mean all kinds.

I guess that’s why I am head over heels in love with books, travel, and my husband! These three fuel stories in my every day.

BOOKWORM (couch potato by extension)

reading list and Sally Rooney Normal People.jpg
My current read, Normal People by Sally Rooney and the list of books I've read so far in my Hobonichi Weeks journal.

I’m an avid reader and as of this posting, I have read a total of 42 (forty two) books just in 2021. Can you believe it? I can’t even believe it myself. It goes to show even this pandemic has a silver lining.

Though I use Goodreads to check other people’s ratings of books, I see Hive as an ideal platform to discuss books I have read in detail. It would be great to have some interaction with fellow book lovers from the Hive community. Don’t be shy to say hi if you are one!

Gigantic book stack at the Starfield Library Korea.JPG
Starfield Library, South Korea, November 2018

I am also a frequent lurker in #bookstagram and #booktube and it would be nice to have another source of book recommendations from Hive bookworms. I like to read as wide and varied as I can but my favorite genres are thrillers, crime, and contemporary romance.

WANDERLUST

While I adore books for their ability to transport me to distant worlds, I am also in love with travelling literally.

Nami Island Korea.JPG
Taking a winter stroll at Nami Island, South Korea, 2018 (featuring my red ribbon)

Every place has its story and our experience in that place is an exciting chapter in our lives. I have been blessed with seeing different cultures from seven (7!) different countries already. As someone who grew up thinking that I’ll never be able to travel overseas in my lifetime, it’s quite a feat.

wearing a hanbok at Changdeokgung Korea.JPG
Wearing the traditional Korean hanbok in our tour of Changdeokgung, 2018 - palace entrances are free when you wear a hanbok

Certainly, a lot of Hivers out there have been bitten by the travel bug too, and I see Hive as a great platform to exchange stories. What’s the craziest thing you’ve done in a place you visited? Was there a culture shock that traumatized you? Did you meet your soulmate while travelling? I would love to know!

JOE PROCESS

Best of all, my husband @thejoeprocess is my best story buddy. We can talk for hours on end about current events, people we know, and many other topics in the real world. But our conversations also explore the unknown and in our own world we contemplate extraterrestrial life and the existence of parallel universes.

It is because of him (and the fam @gwenfinity, @morenatravels, @sassycebuana, @eeventuree, @jongcl, @gioxide.arts, @swaycanete, and @kcwonders) that I’ve learned about Hive.

If you’ve read this far, thank you. Let me know if you’re interested in hearing more about books and travel by leaving a comment below.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency