This is me. At least some of it

Write your story, huh? Which part - the one from the beginning, how my parents, my younger brother and I fled from the war in Yugoslavia in the early 90s (where a window exploded over my brother and me), got rejected by Slovakia (not the Czech Republic as I initially wrote), then had the choice between Australia and Norway, of which my parents picked the latter?

How I was picked on for being a foreigner with curly hair, and then add glasses to that, throughout all my 13 years of schooling, and even got picked on for being a bit different during my years at the university?

How I had to manage being from a Muslim, semi-conservative family raised and living in Norway, where the last few months of high school are mostly spent getting drunk, going to parties and festivals, and sleepovers, both as a kid and as a young adult, and going clubbing is considered as usual as brushing your teeth?

How I ran away from home at the age of 18, turned to drugs, made one bad decision after another, ended up living in Amsterdam for a couple of months (of which I was homeless for a week), where I met most of the people who changed my life for the better? And after almost 10 years of drug abuse, I have one Bachelor's degree in English (don't ask why) and Political Science, and am now in my second year of a Teacher's Degree?

image.png
Amsterdam, October 2017

Or the part about how I started from the bottom, now I'm on Hive? How I started to make amence and to forgive myself for past mistakes, building myself up and planting seeds here and there of brutal, true and positive energy, discovering new spiritual and emotional ways to cope with the present, while trying to understand the past, and at the same time getting stronger, physically and mentally, to face the future? Too much of a cliché? But it's true tho.

I was introduced to Hive by someone I met several years ago, Chris from @digi-me. He re-introduced me to the world of crypto. And also to the world of the educated ones, to the side that takes the red pill. And after months of procrastination, I finally sat down and started to write.

This blog will be about the things that give me joy. I'll be writing about food, all kinds of food, sweet n' salty, ethnic n' non-ethnic - but meatless tho. No need to eat a steak if it's at the cost of a beautiful cow's life, whose eating field is at the cost of some few hundred innocent, oxygen-producing trees - mind you, oxygen, we need this. What are you gonna do at the end of the line with all the steaks you can carry, when there's no oxygen left? Another cliché by a noobie-vegetarian. I will also be posting about all the spiritual knowledge I've aquired along the way, about understanding, about empathy and sympathy, about psychology (or, the bits and pieces that I've read here and there). Among others things that I've yet to learn.

A good cocktail of joy - through food and inspirational quotes. Soul therapy.

Enough about me.

Softcaramel, out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency