Inktober - Roof - The Solar Hive

The prompt for Inktober Day 13 is "roof."

I have often thought about the problem of being thrown out onto the street and had to depend on HIVE for my sustenance. I wouldn't make enough money each year to pay taxes and insurance on a car; So, I would need to scale down. I spent several months living in a bivouac sack when I was younger. But I would need electricity so that I could connect with HIVE.

So, I thought up the idea of creating a "Solar Hive."

To build the shelter I would find some used solar panels and buy some sort of power station. I could get some PVC piping to make a frame and drape some nylon off the solar panels for the shelter walls. I would use a wood plank as the floor. I would want the unit to be about 7 foot long so that I could stretch out and still have some room to put the power station and my gear.

I would actually build the unit on a dolly. That way I could move about.

I would probably make it construction orange. I would have an orange hard hat and an reflective orange vest so that people would think that i was a construction worker. I might make up a company name an put a made up logo on the unit so that people thought the unit was doing radiation monitoring or such.

Building the dolly into the shelter would allow me to secure the shelter with a chain and lock making it a bit harder to steal. The dolly would also keep me a few inches off the ground. I've had problems with my bivouac sack getting soaked in the rain.

roof.jpg

Anyway, this is my design for a solar hive. With a solar hive I would have a dry place to sleep, a way to recharge my computer; so that I could bide my time wandering around taking photos for my HIVE posts.

If I was rich, I probably would make a few of these and give them to homeless people to see how well people fared in homes built from solar panels.

My guess is that the structure would be struck by lightning and I would be sued for giving homeless people lightning rods.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency