Inktober day 5 - Build

built2.jpg

Eventually, after walking for several months, Rachel saw no reason to continue taking that one more step, so she stopped. She sat there, for few days, listening to the wind and hoped that the voices in her head would tell her what to do. And they did. They told her to build a house. So she did. And now there she was. Sitting in front of her house, hoping that she would have someone to share it with.

To be continued...

Previous parts
1-4


Here's the sketch. I have the worst handwriting, don't I? I have always had a terrible, uneven and ragged handwriting that tilts to the left. I'm not left handed, but left it wants to go. And the words also go downhill really quickly, some letters are small and some BIIIIIG. And if there's one approximately beautiful letter somewhere starting a word, there will be several just awful letters after it. So just like I normally am. Uneven.

build1.jpg

The first picture was made with pen brushes. The third one is my first ever ink work. And after some training, I have to say that I really love the dip pen and working with it! But I chose the pen brush work because I spent more time with it and I think it's better, but from now on, I will use the dip pen (mostly) and promise to do the best I can.

build3.jpg

I had a visit to an art museum today and found a new favourite artist for me. Kalle Carlstedt (1891-1952). He is (was) a Finnish artist, specially known for his woodcuts. The technique is quite different of course than inking, but I was terribly inspired of his work. Have a look here. (Google search.)

I'm sure I don't have enough skills to try to do any other style than wobbly novice, but it doesn't hurt if I have a goal or a vision of some sort. Perhaps I will try a woodcut style some day.

Better buy more ink then.

P.S.
I did the Ring again. With ink. Added spatter. See the wobbly novice style?

ring3.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency