A VISIT TO THE GOLCONDA FORT HYDERABAD INDIA

ing11.jpg

GOLCONDA FORT

When I was prepping for my a week-long stay at Hyderabad, there were two major
memories that played in my mind - the taste of the ecstatic Biryani dished out by Paradise
(Not as in heaven, It is just the name of a restaurant) and the architecture of the majestic
Golconda Fort which breaths of history and pride. A visit to the Golconda fort was
unavoidable.

ing12.jpg

Golconda Fort is located around 16 km away from Hyderabad’s hi-tech city. The hi-tech
city is in Telangana after Andhra Pradesh got divided.
Now a bit of history, Golkonda Fort was first built by Kakatiya dynasty's Prataparudra Dev in
A.D.1143. But, in A.D. 1363 this fort was conquered by the Bahmani King. Until A.D.1518,
this fort was under control of Bahmani rulers.

ing13.jpg

During that time, there were many diamond mines near Golconda fort. It was the golden
era of diamond business. In A.D. 1687 Mugal King Sultan Aurangaseb Abdul Hassan
attacked Tana Shah and captured the court. Later, he kept the king in prison till his end.
Under Quli rule, the Hyderabad city grew and expanded. Later, the city was taken over by
the Nizams.

Going Solo at Golconda Fort

So, as it was, I set out for Golconda Fort, one fine Sunday morning. After a heavy breakfast
which comprised of the South Indian ethnic cuisines of Dosa, Uttapam and Vada, I set out
from my hotel at Hi-Tech city. I took a bike rental through a Drivezy Application. An hour
and a half of facing the inveterate Deccan heat and dust later, I found myself humbled with
awe by a magnificent example of human creation.
You can choose your path to climb up to the top of the Golconda fortress. Climb up the stairs as Golconda unravels history part by part. Look up, and the structure humbles you, look down and the architecture never ceases to amaze.

ing1.jpg

Walk the paths that once the armor clad warriors walked!

Walking upwards, a lawn with some refreshment stalls is in rightful existence. Since the climb upwards can be exhausting and some juices are welcome for rejuvenating.
Following some steep and narrow stairways, the view opens up to the wide terrace of
the Baradari. This is the highest point of view in the fort, and as expected a panoramic view of the city is for treat. When I think about it, the skyline illustrated how I was viewing the future, while my feet were rooted in the past. The skyline of the city was in stark contrast with the Golconda area. A confluence of the past and the present which can be surprising.

ing2.jpg

Panoramic Views

By now, it started getting dark and I had to return. I had to miss out on the light and sound show which takes place shortly after sundown, but I had little regret.

ing3.jpg

Exploring the Fort

I had enjoyed my rendezvous with history. I paid one last glance at the majestic facade before exiting. A respect that the archaeological treasure deserves.
Who needs the Koh-i-noor, when we have such magnificent treasures like the Golconda Fort?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency