Squash and Beans - September 8, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Squash - damaged ones crop Sept. 2021.jpg

On Wednesday my intern was here. She got the lawn chairs down into the cellar for me. That was the last of the party cleanup. Then we brought in the squashes from the back porch and started washing them up.

We found many damaged ones that would not store. These I will have to cut up and cook and freeze.

Squash curing crop Sept. 2021.jpg

These were the good ones. Only one Sweet Meat was undamaged. The orange ones are kabochas and a lot of acorns. They will cure here for a week or 2 or until the carpenter builds me hardware cloth boxes for them. Mice got last year’s ones in storage, so for the new root cellar, I will have boxes.

Next to last of green beans crop Sept. 2021.jpg

I still needed 7 pints of green beans for the year. The beans had been abandoned during the Memorial preparations. So once the squashes were finished, we went out and picked all the beans, even the too big ones. Then we sorted out the good ones, washed them up and I processed them for the freezer. I got 4 pints. Just 3 more to go, if the plants produce more beans.

Beets half harvested crop Sept. 2021.jpg

The beets were another abandoned crop. It’s to rain all day on Thursday, so I went out and harvested half of the beets. I will wash them up and set them to cook on the stove. Then I will tackle the squash and get some of them into the oven. I also hope to make a beef stew for supper.

Friday brings the usual chaos. My helper friend will be doing the foliar and milk spray. I will probably be still working on squash.

Our 47th anniversary is his weekend. My brother and my intern plan to take me to the Franklin County Fair. That’s where my husband and I went each year. I found out a band I like will be playing in the afternoon, so I am looking forward to that. Not sure what day we are going as my brother is in the middle of haying. So hopefully I will find out on Thursday what we are doing.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency