Going to the Fair - September 11, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

page_46_largeA1 crop.jpg


source

On Saturday morning I got out early while it was still cold and set to work emptying the trash shed. I beat the mosquitoes as they didn’t start to bite until 10 minutes before I was done. I finished about 9:30 and took it all to the dump. I was glad I had 3 hours before my brother and intern showed up to take me to the Fair. The shed wasn’t bad, but breaking down all those cardboard boxes is work!

My brother showed up nearly ½ hour early, that was a shocker! I had started getting ready but wasn’t done. Before I could finish, having fielded 2 phone calls, my intern arrived. We left shortly after 1PM.

We were able to find easy parking just inside the gate and set off to explore the Fair.

Fair - 4-H building crop Sept. 2021.jpg

Our first stop was the 4-H Building. It had few people and I was wearing a good mask. This kid, Justin Hall, and his siblings, nearly filled the room on their own. They had dozens of entries, of all kinds for things from metal working, art, woodworking, canning, sewing, etc.

From there my brother and intern went into the Fish & Game Building. He wanted to see the snapping turtle. It was far too crowded for me, so I waited outside.

Fair - pig races text crop Sept. 2021.jpg

From the schedule you can see the racing pigs were on for 2:15 so we headed over there to get places not crowded. My husband loved the little pigs, especially when they used to be standard breeds. They’ve long since changed to potbelly pigs, not a favorite of his.

But they are cute and except for the swimming piglet, fun to watch. They were kind to the little pig, but it obviously didn’t want to do it.

Fair - slow pig crop Sept. 2021.jpg

They give the pigs cute names and this one had Slow in its name. It meandered out of its gate, meandered around the course, checking out the smells and sights. A cute little gilt not in a hurry.

Fair - horse drawing text crop Sept. 2021.jpg


[source](my intern)

My brother and intern wanted to watch the horse pulls so we went over there. I’d not been a fan as in the past there were abusive drivers. But I have to say I was impressed with every team this year.

Fair - horse drawing5 crop Sept. 2021.jpg

We watched 2 rounds and then headed for the Ferris wheel to see how bad the lines were.

Fair - views text crop Sept. 2021.jpg

As you can see my favorite part of the Ferris wheel is when they start to let people off and I can get photos. As we stood in line I saw our old hayman with a small boy. It was his nephew wanting to ride the Ferris wheel. My intern and I were going on; it’s not my brother’s thing.

When we reached the entry, the man told the little boy he could not ride alone. So we took him into our car. It was his first time on the Ferris wheel and he loved it. This year we went around a lot of times, and the tickets were very reasonable!

Arrissa, Pam Ferris wheel1 Sept. 2021.jpg

My intern got this one of us at the top.

Fair - Cow and sleeping girl  crop Sept. 2021.jpg

My brother likes looking at the animals so we headed to the barns.

Fair - boys playing farm trucks  crop Sept. 2021.jpg

Each year for the last few years, when my husband and I wandered the barn area, we’d find little boys playing with trucks. It’s been a couple years now, and we found bigger boys, still playing with farm trucks.

They went into the Poultry house, but it was too crowded for me. By the time we’d finished the animals, it was close to time for the band I wanted to see to start. So we headed that way.

Fair - The 60's Experience crop Sept. 2021.jpg

The band is “The 60’s Experience” and my husband and I had seen them back in the winter of 2019. I’d tried to get to several of their local performances this summer, with no success. So I was delighted to find out they were playing at the Fair.

We got seats at the front and settled in. My intern prefers country music and as we were sat in the front, it was quite loud. She was going to have to leave before it was done, as it’s her “Movie Night” with her friends. She actually left a bit early; I think it was too much for her. I figured it would be a 1 hour performance, as they usually are.

But 5PM came and went and they kept playing. My brother said he’d stay to the end so we stayed put. They were very good, and I spent the 2 hours chair dancing to the music. That was about 1 hour longer than I should have, but it was fun and I was enjoying the music.

Fair - Corse wagon crop Sept. 2021.jpg

Outside the Roundhouse this wagon was on display. It had been built about 1850 and later restored by a relative of mine, Malcolm Corse.

Fair - Roundhouse crop Sept. 2021.jpg

With no Fair last year, the grounds people did extensive work to all the buildings. This is the Roundhouse.

Fair - pirate bubble ship crop Sept. 2021.jpg

There was a roving pirate ship (motorized) that spewed bubbles in its wake. The little kids loved it.

Behind the people is the booth selling t-shirts. I did not at all like the graphic so did not get one. I would have liked a t-shirt for this year, but oh, well…

Fair - bookcase quilt crop Sept. 2021.jpg

After the music, we went into the Roundhouse. There were few people in there. They had removed a lot of the counters that held displays and shut off the entire 2nd floor. So it didn’t take long to go around it.

I’ve always loved the quilts hanging from the 2nd floor banisters. This was my favorite this year. It got Best of Show.

Fair - Barb's quilt crop Sept. 2021.jpg

One of the moms from my Homeschool Moms’ Night Out group entered this one and got a blue.

Fair - museum t-shirts crop Sept. 2021.jpg

From there we went to the Museum. They had taken out a lot of the cool stuff to allow for distancing. But they had put up this display of some of the t-shirts from different years. There were quite a few I wish I had!

Fair - steer head carving crop Sept. 2021.jpg

There were several carvings spread around the grounds. I liked this one. By the time we got done, it was 6:30 and we were starting to think of eating. I had not gotten my usual onion rings, or lemonade, or peach pie with ice cream.

It was too late to order something, as it would take up to an hour for delivery. My brother suggested a restaurant in my town I had never been in. They have lobster there. So we decided to go there, after I’d rescued the cat food from the raccoon.

I had a lobster and onion rings and my brother had lobster bisque and a codfish Rueben he said was very good. By the time we got to the house it was 8PM, well past my bedtime. I never got to bed until 9PM. I expect I will be wiped out on Sunday and have nothing planned. I probably will try to get laundry done, as Monday is to be wicked busy.

So I survived my 47th trip to the Fair, without my husband for the first time. I am grateful to my brother and my intern for making it a fun day. I was afraid if I didn’t go this year, I might never go again. There was also the danger of the covid, which is on a steep rise in this area. But I was careful, kept my mask on, didn’t eat, and used lots of hand sanitizer. Now I wait…

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency