A Beautiful Autumn Day - October 24, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Front pasture crop Oct. 2021.jpg

I was at my computer on Sunday morning and the deep blue of the sky and the colors along this stretch called me outside. Sunday was to be the last of the really nice days for a while as rain is coming in and that will knock off a lot of the leaves. So I decided to do a post on the beauty here on the farm in Western Mass.

I started with this shot due west across the front pasture. The pastures have grown up lush and green since the hay cutting. Then I went clockwise around the house.

Shed and white oak crop Oct. 2021.jpg

I just turned around to get this shot of the shed full of wood and the huge white oak tree. It still has plenty of leaves to drop in the yard.

North treeline middle pasture crop Oct. 2021.jpg

Then I got this one of the north treeline along the middle pasture. The Big rose is still going strong by the Small garden.

Middle pasture crop Oct. 2021.jpg

I decided I wasn’t going to go all the way to the barn so this will have to suffice. It’s the middle pasture and barn and some of the Small garden covered in oak leaves (and acorns).

One of hundreds crop Oct. 2021.jpg

As I walked over to the Big garden, this guy, one of hundreds, was in the New East garden next to the back porch.

Big garden crop Oct. 2021.jpg

For as hard a frost as we had Saturday night, not much was hit badly in the Big garden.

House and New Herb garden crop Oct. 2021.jpg

I was also surprised by how much had survived in the New Herb garden.

North treeline front pasture crop Oct. 2021.jpg

I turned around and got this shot across the wildflower area of the north tree line on the front pasture.

South and West of Steps gardens crop Oct. 2021.jpg

The plants in these South and West of Steps gardens had enough heat from the stones to protect them, plus most are hardy plants.

Wildflowers - catchfly crop Oct. 2021.jpg

I had noticed on Saturday this catchfly on the northeast corner of the wildflower area was blooming beautifully and had hoped it would survive and it did.

Across the wildflower area crop Oct. 2021.jpg

The trees across the wildflower area along the driveway.

Wood pile crop Oct. 2021.jpg

And turned some more and the bright red of the vines caught my eye on the old wood pile. That brought me back to where we started.

So that was mid morning on a late October day on the farm in New England.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency