Time for YOU when you’re a parent

What ‘me time’ looks like.

Self care has become a big talking point in recent years and with suicide rates being so high. More and more people are talking about mental health and taking time for oneself.
It’s especially important when you’re a parent. You spend all of your time making sure that your children have everything they need and it’s so easy to neglect yourself.
So what can you do?

I think one big thing I do everyday is to really enjoy being present with my kids. It’s not always an easy thing to do. Sometimes it can be difficult to enjoy reading the same book over and over again.

I look to see their joy and meet them there. Laugh with them even though I didn’t find it funny. (Once I start laughing with them, I can’t help but laugh more!) remember to breathe, really deep, slow your out breath, it’s helps to give you a bit of space and calm.

So that can help me when I’m with them, but I still need time without them (I always miss them and am happy when I see them again). My youngest still naps in the day and so that gives me a bit of time to myself if the eldest is with daddy or a grandparent, and of course they can both be with daddy for a few hours. So what do I do then, ha, whatever I want!

I’m studying Italian at the moment, which I love. Getting out to a class with other adults and not talking about kids is really refreshing.

Today I spent some time doing my italian homework and so that was my ‘me time’ and I really enjoyed it!

What does your ‘me time’ look like? How do you stay mentally healthy?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency