Adding more cabinets to the kitchen - Placement and table cutting

After many coats of boiled linseed oil, the table, doors and drawer are all ready for their final touches. The wood looks much darker and now has a protective coating on it to help preserve it through the years. Glad I used the Baltic Butcherblock project, it was easy to work with besides its weight. The final product they give it just needs paint or stain in my case.

I made a mistake along the way by not wiping off the boiled linseed oil. This left sticky spots, though after a little research online I found a way to get rid of it.

Steel wool was suggested to be used to remove the sticky areas, though I only had a copper scrubber so I went to work with that instead.

After lots of scrubbing it was working, the boiled linseed oil came out in little flakes as I scrubbed the sticky areas just leaving a clean surface behind.

The cabinet doors also needed a little treatment from the copper scrubber. I do like how the color came out after multiple coats of boiled linseed oil.

I had to scrub for about an hour over all the spots I left on too thick.

Above is the final product, a much darker wood than when we started.

The table needed a corner cut, so I took part of my old Baltic Butcherblock and cut out the square area.

With a square cut out I cleaned it up with the sander, it was already stained from the previous project.

My sander made quick work on the edges, I face the messed up corner to the back so its not noticed.

Here is where the square that I cut will go, right on top of a cabinet I had installed awhile back but never finished the top of it.

With the square in place I also cut two more pieces finish off the surface.

I put some glue down so I can just place the table on top and the weight will help it all stick once it dries. After a day of curing the white goes away and turns a clear color.

With the corner spot I made a very small cut and then glued it in place.

We carry in the cabinet, takes two people to get it inside as it weighs about 75 pounds. Next is to reattach the doors and drawer cover.

I place the 4' counter top and it just barely fits. I may cut it back so I can access the cabinet next to it. But I will just try it out for a week and see how I like it with the table length.

Next up is to add some shelves inside the cabinet as it does not have any, just a big open space. I should be able to find some or make them at the very least. But glad we have more table space now and a place to put things in until I get the shelves installed. And I also plan on getting overhead cabinets installed. But I need my carpenter friends help to do that as its not a one person job.

I also want to cover up that particle board on the sides, I have some nice Brazilian hardwood I can put on the sides. Just need to figure out how I want to mount it. But I should have enough to cover both sides of the bare cabinets, normally you would not see the particle board are as its all covered by other cabinets.

A link to the previous post on this project:

@solominer/adding-more-cabinets-to-the-kitchen-staining-the-wood

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency