Hive Watchers Proposal - Some suggestions.




image source

I've just read through the @hivewatchers proposal and supported it. However, the website https://hivewatchers.com isn't fit for purpose at the moment. In fact, I would argue its only purpose is to submit an account by what are effectively Bounty Hunters. Bounty Hunters? Because:

"Community members submit their reports anonymously on our website at http://hivewatchers.com and, should their reports be accepted as valid and correct, receive a small payment of appreciation."

I wonder if that small payment is "Dead or Alive"? 🤣 Personally, I think they should stop that practice immediately. I would hope that people would report things because they want to make Hive a better place. I would hope they would do it because it was the right thing to do? I'm not convinced that offering a reward system, no matter how small it is, is a good idea and only leaves the group open to being accused of "Paying people to grass us up!"

The 𝗔𝗯𝘂𝘀𝗲 𝗚𝘂𝗶𝗱𝗲 & 𝗙𝗔𝗤𝘀 should have been propagated before the website went live, it's where I and I suspect all Hive users would expect to find information regarding the procedures, how accounts get highlighted, what the appeals process is and more importantly how does someone get rehabilitated. so I hope this

"...documentation is ongoing and will be released shortly in due course..."

is what is being referred to here?

The THE HIVEWATCHERS paragraph in the proposal post should be on the front page (Home) of the website but not the dictionary definition, though, yawn! 😴
That paragraph is perfect for what you are trying to achieve. In fact, I'd be tempted to stick most of that proposal post on the website. To be honest, that way, the next time someone says, "Who the fook are you? Why did you? How do I?" you can just send them to the website rather than typing the same response over and over again.

The Blacklist should be on the website too! But it needs to be in a better format. The current stuff you guys have is terrible. This list gives me names, and I'm supposed to assume they are on the Blacklist, but I have no idea why or what they've done. Then there's the post that Hivewatchers makes each month. It's appalling!!! It tells me what the Abuse is and a link to where Hivewatchers made the notification but I have to trawl through each and very link on that post to see who is the naughty boy (or girl) who has made it to the Blacklist. I don't have time for that. Give me the name as well and I'll avoid them like the plague or at the very least click on the link to see why someone I [might] know is on the naughty boy list.

This suggestion is far better and I would think far more acceptable to the community that you guys are trying to protect.

𝗨𝘀𝗲𝗿𝗻𝗮𝗺𝗲 𝗖𝗮𝘁𝗲𝗴𝗼𝗿𝘆 𝗥𝗲𝗮𝘀𝗼𝗻 𝗢𝘂𝘁𝗰𝗼𝗺𝗲
@reallynaughtyperson Plagiarism https://somelinksomewhere 6-month Blacklist
@terribleindividual Identity Theft https://linktotheevidence Permanent Ban
@scumbag Spam https://hatethisbehaviour 12-month Blacklist

I fully appreciate that @guiltyparties and @CaptainAnonymous* are trying to do the best they can while fending off death threats and dog poop pushed through their inbox but the best why to combat some of that is through Transparency because at the moment, from what I can see, Hivewatchers et al bring a lot of this anger on themselves by making what looks like, on the face of it, arbitrary decisions with poor tools and practices in place.

I like GuiltyParties

They have ALWAYS interacted with me with respect and open mindedness so this post is in No Way attacking them or taking sides with any aggrieved person or diminishing the good work they do for that matter. It is honest criticism with solutions that over the years I have come to understand, believe in and implement wherever possible.

Footnote
* I understand why someone would want anonymity, being part of Hive Watchers must be a scary activity. The problem is, yet again it leaves the group open to criticism. You can't argue that people are hiding behind multiple accounts and that's why they were blacklisted and then with the next breath say that a Hive Watchers team member has to hide their identity. It makes you look like hypocrites.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency