A day in Devon - adventures in Plymouth

img_0795.jpg
At he moment, I am spending my time on the border of Devon and Cornwall, although on the Cornwall side near a place Called Gunnislake.
Being at this side of Cornwall, it is giving me the chance to explore places I’ve never been before, so today I ended up in Plymouth, a place that I’ve never been before.
Once we found a car park that we could stay longer than 3 hours, we headed up to Plymouth Hoe, (insert Hoe joke here lol).
One of the reasons is that I’ve always wanted to see Smeatons Tower, it was a lighthouse that was on the dangerous Eddistone Rocks, until the ground became unstable, they rebuilt it on Plymouth Hoe, apart from the base which is still on the rocks as the workers couldn’t remove it due to the fact that it was built there so well.

There was beautiful view over the water today with a massive breakwater with some sort of ancient fort on it.
img_0797.jpg
The eddistone lighthouse just visible on the horizon.

img_0798.jpg

I really enjoyed my time in Plymouth and it’s a city that really deserves more exploring, especially the marina side of the town. I hope to go back again, sooner rather than later.

img_0800.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency