Talking heads | A day filming on location

I had a hot and challenging shoot day yesterday.

Talking about lugging stuff around 🥵
Trip 1…

img_3284.heic

Trip 2…

img_3281.heic

Trip 3…

So many doors, lifts, security fobs, stairs etc.
Luckily I have these wheels.. (ideal for all the tripods and stands)

img_3292.heic

Not only was the job tricky work to get right under the time and space restrictions, but just unloading the car, getting it in AND parking in a city centre is just a nightmare. 😂

They don’t make city’s the easiest and most convenient place to have a car. I get why. But it’s just chaotic, restricting and expensive.
Not worse than London, but still. £12 parking for 3 hours? What kind of fresh hell is this? I bet London is £25 for 3 hours..

Anyway. Filming…

My mission was a multi-camera talking head/piece to camera.
The brief was pretty loose - the subject just needed to look well lit, contemporary and sound good.

The job was through my awesome brothers creative agency, who’s lovely client needed a last minute spot of video filming. Cue me. 👈🏻

The location

img_3271.heic

The room we had was a small office (see background in above) - so I worked first to block out as much unnecessary daylight from the window as possible. I did this with blackout material hung in front of the window (not very well pictured… I think I was taking it down in this shot…)
Anyway, the blackout worked well for what I needed it to do.

Up next are my awesome Aputure 120d set.

img_3278.heic

I used one as a back light, one as the front key and the last to fill the back wall to give it a nice gradient tone.
I kept a honeycomb on all of them. I like the way they control the light focus.

img_3266.heic

img_3274.heic

Rolling

I had three cameras rolling. A Panasonic GH5 (4K) a Sony A7iii (4K) and my trusty Canon C100mkii (HD) to capture audio and add a nice third angle. Quite an eclectic mix.

img_3300.png

img_3299.png

img_3269.heic

There was plenty of coverage at-least and subject looked sharp across everything, which is great. 👌🏻

Next?

My next job is to select the best takes and present them for consideration to the editors. I hope they actually like what they see. It’s difficult to relay the struggles in the space to get what we eventually got.

It felt like a real exercise in old school skills of good lighting, basic camera work and sound. Nothing like a small, warm, busy, time sensitive location to keep you on your toes!! 😆

Anyway, I’m just glad to be working to be honest.
Stick me in a sweaty box room with a camera any day and I’ll happily get on with shit.

Cheers for reading, @ashtv.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency