Get to know April: A self-intro blog

Hello! I'm April Moncada, an English teacher from Cebu. Since this is my first article, please allow me to introduce myself.

A look into their amazing portfolio (1).png

My parents named me April because of my birth month. However, "April" turned out to be challenging for younger siblings and cousins to pronounce, so they started calling me "Ate Eping" instead. The nickname has stuck until now, and I think it's cute. So I decided to make it my username here too.

My family is into the arts, and this certainly rubbed off on me. I grew up watching my father and uncles' band perform in rock band competitions organized by DYRT, a now-defunct local radio station. These were often held in the parking lot of Gaisano Country Mall. I always enjoyed their rehearsals at home and at a nearby jam studio. It was so cool to listen to their original songs played on the radio. Aside from music, they're also into painting and their works had been exhibited along with some of the best painters in Cebu.

I'm a teacher by profession and an artist by heart. My late grandma once asked me, "Artista ka u maestra (are you an artist or a teacher)?" And without skipping a beat, I replied, "Artista nga maestra (an artist teacher)." I love theatre, and I integrate theatre methodology in my lessons whenever possible to give the students a more dynamic learning experience.

215528_10151047846364230_59666945_n.jpg
Playing Madame Thenardier in the Bohol tour of Creative Thespians' Club's Les Miserables production (2012)

I love musicals so much that even my master's degree thesis is about a musical: West Side Story. Some of my favorites are Hamilton, Wicked, Les Miserables, Miss Saigon, and Legally Blonde. I also joined local Cebuano productions. I was a part of the ensemble of Creative Thespians' Club's Les Miserables productions in 2012. Then I got to play Madame Thenardier in the Bohol tour later that year. Afterwards, I moved on to my first major role(s), portraying six different characters in Little Boy Production's Progress, a musical based on National Artist for Literature F. Sionil Jose's short story of the same title.

Screen Shot 2021-09-10 at 2.16.15 PM.png
A screenshot of me covering Eric Clapton's "Change the World" on YouTube

I also play the guitar, but I can play just good enough to accompany my singing actually. I know a bit of ukulele too, and it was especially helpful when I was teaching kindergarten. We'd have impromptu classroom concerts and jam to their favorite nursery rhymes.

4DC06FF3-0CC4-4FDC-BF6F-4DC0FF2FF5B4.jpg
Fountain pen: Lamy Safari (fine nib); ink: Sheaffer purple

Recently, I picked up a pen habit: fountain pens. I got my first fountain pen when I was 10 years old, but being left-handed and not knowing how to hold the pen correctly, I lost interest. But during the 2020 lockdown, I found my old fountain pen again. It was already 24 years old, but after cleaning it, it still worked and is one of my everyday-carry pens now. I was inspired, and now I almost exclusively use fountain pens only when writing. I also journal every day, a good excuse to use my fountain pens. Aside from that, it's also a form of meditation for me.

I also love to travel. So yes, I understand your cabin fever brought on by this quarantine. I haven't gone that far yet by general standards. But I've been to interesting and even mystical places in Southeast Asia, especially in Indonesia where I stayed for almost four years.

118912057_10158176974309230_6760256043594263257_n.jpg
Padang, West Sumatra, Indonesia (2016)

20171217_030507257_iOS.jpg
Borobudur, Jogjakarta, Central Java, Indonesia (2017)

Recently, I earned my MA Literature degree from CNU. I'm proud of this, yet I was humbled by the experience. Writing my thesis taught me a lot about learning from others and not being afraid to ask for support if necessary.

With regards to Hive, I first heard about it from my former co-teacher and friend, Ms. @jongcl, and I was invited by @sassycebuana through her. I was motivated to join because of the positive feedback I heard. Aside from that, two other former co-teachers have also joined.

I have no cryptocurrency experience yet, so being in Hive is my first time. I'm excited to learn the ropes, and I'm hoping to expand my network and my cryptocurrency knowledge through Hive.

IMG_0965.JPG

Get to know more about me. You can follow me on Instagram (@pleasantspring86) and on Facebook (April Anne Moncada). I'd greatly appreciate it.

15972721_10154603263279230_3780432963567764597_o.jpg
A photo collage a former coteacher created for me on my first teaching anniversary in Indonesia (2017)

Hive Post Banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency