#KeepExploring Ep 2. Pietermaai, Curacao

Welcome to the second edition of #KeepExploring!
In these posts I'll take you to a couple of spots that you definitely need to see on the island. It's also THE series that gives me the freedom to just explore, just get out the (with a camera) and explore.
I genuinely get more energy from seeing new places so I'm hoping that translates to interesting posts.

Pietermaai, Curacao

Pietermaai is another one of this historic neighborhoods in Curaçao. It borders Punda so it has a similar history.


The first times I came here, back I was a kid, there really wasn't much to see. The building were in the hands of certain families that didn't do anything with it, probably passed down from generation to generation. The whole area was pretty run down. I remember thinking to myself that I wouldn't walk those streets at night.


For the last 10+ years though, there has been a movement to restore and reuse the area. In this case most of the (new) owners are Dutch.


It has slowly but surely turned into on of those tourist hotspots with most buildings becoming either boutique hotels or restaurants/bars.
Or in some cases, both!
So back in pre-covid days it was very much a part of the nightlife.


Lately not so much (given the situation) but it's still a great option to stay (if you don't want to stay in the big hotels), for food and for pictures!


Hope you enjoyed the second edition 😃!

Have a great week!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency