The Nemuri Parents ( Part 1 )

Hi Hello!!
I am back with more Kiku lore! This time I wanted to talk more about Kiku's parents. This will be a 2 part post. I wanna talk about the design aspects here and then their character lore in the next part.

THE ART PROCESS

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Behold my work process Gif. I used the app procreate in my Ipad Pro, I am obsessed with that app. This gif was also made from that app. Procreate automatically records the whole drawing process and just compress them into a 30sec gif. AND they also have a build in timer to tell us how long each outwork took. This illustration took me 10 hours to make. I was shooked.

But I can actually guess why it took so long. This was the first time I drew them. It took time to transfer the things in my brain into a complete character illustration.

For the overall feel for the characters I wanted them to be very clean and fashionable. These two are fashion brand owners. So I went to pinterest and saw that most fashion designers wear black clothes so they gotta wear black. I also want them to wear matching outfits to show that they are a very lovey dovey couple.

The dad's design was fairly simple and easy enough. I want him to be that character in the show that the viewers will never know what he looks like. Just know that he looks terrifying but deep down he is a cinnamon roll. So since he is someone who doesn't want people to see the real him, he wears clothes that would hide his entire body and features. I think the paper bag idea is cute and something my character would do. Masks in stores are creepy looking so he decide a paper bag with a smiley is WAAAAYYYYY more friendly looking.

The mom on the other hand.. was probably the reason this illustration took so long to finish. I just can't get her look right!

As you can see in the gif, I had to redraw her many, many times cause it just...doesn't feel right. So in the end, I decided to go to the lord and saviour, Pinterest for help. Got a few ref pictures and I'M DONE! Finally got the 'mom look' that I want. Now Kiku and her mom look alike but is still two different people.

THE FINAL LOOK

Kiku’s parent.jpg

Overall I like the look and feel of this two. I can see them wear this just to visit Kiku at her school.

Well that is all from me for now, I will see you guys in the next post, BYeeee!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency