IS HIVE a "Safe Space"??? ~ #nazisaltrightqanonhaven

It's not every day you say that you enjoy seeing advertisements. In fact, I do my best to avoid ad's as much as possible. When I'm scrolling aimlessly on FB and get sucked into a dumb video I didn't intend to watch but find myself a minute in, and then it states...

ad starting soon

That's my cue to cut bait. I'm out.

But this post is about more than that. It's about...

Dun Dun Dun!!!...

tntntn.png

As I was saying, I don't like seeing ads, normally. I'd gander the only 2 people that enjoy seeing ads are the people who buy off of them and the maker of the ad. Seeing your ad bring you what you wanted has to feel good...and buying something you wanted, probably made you feel good (even though a few get some degree of buyers remorse).

So in contrast, I have really liked seeing HIVE in my face on my FB feed for the past few months.

I have liked, commented, shared, and even posted some links in the comments to Hive posts relative to peoples specific questions.

The comments from outsiders seem to have a common thread, however. This was a quick exchange of dialogue with @lordbutterfly regarding this matter...

@lordbutterfly

Some ugly comments from the mainstream folks thinking wer nazis because we support freedom of speech

Me

That seems to be a running theme on a lot of the FB ads I see, too. More just a sign of the times I think. Sadly.

HIVE AD.gif

The first line in the ad reads:

"What if you could interact online with others in a safe space for self-expression and creativity?"

The comments from the outsiders read as such:

Another "Q-anon" safe place??? lol, nope.

This is just another place for conspiracy theorists and nazi sympathizers.

and it goes on like that...

Screen Shot 2021-07-25 at 11.20.54 AM (1).png

check out these ignorant comments

image.png
source

So I asked myself...

What is a SAFE PLACE? and does such a place even exist?

Well, to be 100% safe, you'd have to hide from everything and everyone to avoid outside injury, but that wouldn't preclude you from accidentally injuring yourself, or even injuring your mind by being so isolated.

So to me, there is no 100% safety guarantee.

However, Hive offers something other SM sites are not.

That is communities, with the power to come and go as you please. No one forces you to stay and no one can force you to leave. It's a consensual online platform, where niceness and not being a douche, is incentivized (not saying they don't exist).

The nazis can have their community. The q-anon's can have theirs. The Left can have theirs, and the right can have theirs.

Regardless what these outsiders currently think...holding bad ideas like nazism is not a popular thing. The goal isn't to kill these people, the goal is to change their minds. Disassociation works wonders.

So by safe space (I honestly don't really like the term) I'd say we have communities that you could join, with like minded people, who share your same ideals, beliefs(?), and share a common goal.

My current favorite rapper, Tom MacDonald has a bar that fits very well here...

If I got the right to free speech, you got the right to not listen.

If you want decentralized SM and don't want to see nazi anything, right anything, religion anything, then don't join communities affiliated with those ideals.

A nazi posts on your blog and you get triggered??? Mute him, problem solved. Never see his posts again.

That is where I think the safe space phrase comes into play.

YOU CONTROL THE CONTENT YOU WANT TO SEE! NO ALGORITHMS BLASTING YOU ADS AND NO HIDDEN, BEHIND THE SCENES PROPAGANDA FROM ZUCK OR DORSEY. NO BANNING, NO (real) CENSORSHIP. YOU OWN YOUR CONTENT.

Sadly, like I told butterfly, it's a common theme to be triggered now days...free speech is crumbling and many people would rather someone die than hear the words they don't want to hear.

Safe Spaces don't, and won't, ever, exist for some people.

For now, however, Hive offers the best alternative.

If you're reading this and are not already on Hive, here is my referral link where you can sign up.

What do YOU think? Is HIVE a safe space?

hive banner.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
76 Comments
Ecency